PDA

View Full Version : Stele #5

Merlkir
04-11-2008, 16:14
Hello,
I'm a new concept artist for Europa Barbarorum II and it's my pleasure today to tell you something about how these concept artworks are made.
The first task I got was to paint the Gestikapoinann, Lusitanian spearmen. I liked the patterns they have on their shields and also the equipment was rather simple so it was a good starting piece. I was supplied with good information by the wonderful historians of EB. If I needed anything more, I just had to ask ;)
The process of painting/drawing concept art varies with different projects. I could sketch the characters and paint right away, I could sketch and paint quickly to get the atmosphere right...
Since EB II is so much based on historical accuracy, I decided to paint it as real looking as I could. That meant getting a friend of mine pose for a reference photo so I can get the pose and anatomy just right. He posed for both characters and it was rather complicated, but it all worked out in the end. Then I would sketch in the bone structure to see how the clothing and armor would fold and deform.
After that comes the actual hard work. Painting everything in shades of grey. I chose this approach because it allows me more control of values and shape definition. I kept adding detail until I was satisfied with the result. I also posted a WIP version on the forums for approval. It looked like this. You can see that only the soldier on the left is detailed, the right one is still unfinished.

https://img258.imageshack.us/img258/5394/gestikapoinannwip1ce2.jpg

People noticed some glitches in anatomy and also perspective of the round shields. I fixed those. (or at least tried to ;) the best I could)