PDA

View Full Version : Complete newb (In modding) seeking help!

Socy
04-14-2008, 18:52
Hail fellow EB players!

I've recently begun modifying my EB game as to make it more fun for myself to play, as many of you others do. Now, I've got a couple of questions that I hope you, the community, can answer. Remember, I'm a complete newb when it comes to modding having only done simple things such as changing single scentences in one or two files.

What I'd like to know is:
- How do I alter unit recruitment? For example, I want Arche Seleukeia to be able to recruit Galatian Heavy Swordsmen in Thebais with a level 3 regional MIC. Wich files do I have to modify, and how?
- I've seen that MAA switches the colour and names of factions in the middle of his campaign to add flavour to his AAR's (Wich I'm a great fan of, by the way:smash:). How is this possible? How do you do it
- How do i change the skins on units? Or rather, swap. For example, I'd like the Makedonian Klerouchoi Phalangitai to swap skins with the Seleukid one. How do I change it?

I hope that my questions are not too cumbersome to answer, as I'd really like to modify EB for a even greater experience than it already is! Looking forward to hearing from you. :2thumbsup:

MarcusAureliusAntoninus
04-15-2008, 07:10
1- Recruitment is in the export_descr_buildings.txt. It is very complex and very hard to edit by hand. Take a look at it (lower half of the file), if you've never modded the files before it could give you a heart-attack.

2- Color changes are done in the descr_sm_factions.txt. Change the RGB values in the primary and secondary colors under the faction's internal name.

3- Skins would be under the descr_model_battle.txt. Just look for the section for the unit you want and switch info on the lines for the factions you want to change.

Note 1:
Always backup your files before making changes because mistakes are always bound to occur.

Note 2: