PDA

View Full Version : elections in EB 2

JRG
04-14-2008, 21:40
I remember in MTW2 there was some sort of election for pope. I was wondering if there would be any way to use that to have elections for roman consuls instead of the current sytstem where you are basically just king. I know that that's not EB's fault, but it seems to be the main innacuracy in the game for me.

Patriote
04-15-2008, 00:31
I'm no expert here but reading your post had look at the files to find the mechanism beyond the election of the pope. I haven't it so far but I found this line in the descr_sm_factions.txt:

has_family_tree no

I wonder if it can be of use somehow :idea2:

Only two factions have no on this line, Papal States and Slaves. Did anyone do tests with this option? if yes, what possibilities are there ? :book:

Also, what about the capability of the Pope to promote Priests to Cardinals?

MarcusAureliusAntoninus
04-16-2008, 01:47
Pope and Cardinal elections require a faction slot be used as an unplayable faction...

The Teuton Kingdom Campaign uses a no family tree feature however, which could be used for certain factions in EB2.

Hax
04-16-2008, 09:33
I believe I can hear someone shout "Romani" now. Perhaps also for the Koinon Hellenon?

JRG
04-16-2008, 21:17
or Quarthadistim. they elected their sophet, but he didnt have any military powers.

Flying Pig
04-18-2008, 13:07
You would need koinon hellenion to elect a number of archons (at Marathon in 490 it was 10 from Athenai) and the Consuls would need to be two in number. It's a good idea; I must get M2TW

antisocialmunky
04-19-2008, 04:15
Its neat, but I don't think it would be particularly fair to give any one faction over the others unless it was an absolutely defining characteristic of a faction.

Though I guess that the KH probably would be the best choice for such a thing.

Intrepid Adventurer
04-21-2008, 11:15