PDA

View Full Version : M2TW: Expanded Version

Haiku
05-13-2008, 22:53
HELLO! I am just getting into the Medieval 2 Total War modding community, though I have been striving to discover the secrets of modding strategy games for several years. Finally after stumbling over a tutorial by Musashi, and another by Alpaca, I have begun experimenting with small modifications on the game.
All that time being incapable of modding I came up with quite a few ideas, and those that weren't completely unrealistic as goals I threw out.

The foundation of this mod is to build up a series of small modifications, then move onto a larger bulk of modifications that will expend the timeline of the Medieval 2 game into the beggining of the World War 1 era. So far, this is my gameplan.

Phase 1
-edit arrows to not dissapear once hitting the ground
-add blood-mist for melee blows (only killing blows?)
-add blood-mist for artillery blows (excesive amounts?)
-increase the health of stone walls, especially the larger ones

Phase 2
-add crater/burn-mark textures for artillery when they hit the ground
-set the 'stuck' setting for non-explosive artillery to true
-add in new ambient sounds for battle (current: dull roar of battle. add in things like swords clashing, dying screams 'oh my god!' 'eeagh!')

Phase 3
-increase number of sounds for impact (melee and missile)
-will use recordings of stabbing/shooting/poundings steaks
-increase number of attack/block/dodge animations
-increase number of death animations (drastically! Watching horsemen die the same way 40 times gets old)

Phase 4
-begin experimenting with 'phasing out' units and buildings that are too outdated for the timeline (using swordsmen once muskets are standard is sort of silly)
-begin experimenting with adding new settlement tiers to be more appropriate for more modern combats, progressively
-begin creating models, animations, textures, and files (sounds, weapon, armor) for new units

Phase 5