PDA

View Full Version : Explaination: Building Collision Files

Thor the Bassist
05-29-2008, 12:26
N.B. Before I start I would like to point out that by day I'm a physicist/mathematician and so am good with logic and numbers. Words not so much. If you spot any huge problems with the flow of this explanation then pm me so I can iron out the creases.

One of the areas of modding that hasn't been explored enough in the RTW engine is the buildings and central to much of the problem is the creation of collision files that are vital to a buildings use in game. First it is important to state what the collision files do. The collision files contain all the data regarding how troops, projectiles and the cursor can interact with a building. This may seem rather vague but the area isn't as preset as many people would assume. It is indeed possible to create a fortress that are unspeakably complicated with many walls (although only one outer gate is possible) and buildings that troops can fight upon.

Associated Files
First it is important to outline what files are needed for a collision file.

xxxxxxxxx.bpi This is the actual collision file used by the engine. It is not editable directly but the game can convert a cas file to a bpi during startup.

xxxxxxxxx.cas This is the file you will create in 3dsmax. It consists of several geometries each of which gives a certain instruction to the engine.

descr_building_battle.txt This contains all the building references in the whole game (I would advise using the "include" command as CA have done). The key reference is the "physical_info" reference. This should point to your cas.

Possible geometries within the cas