PDA

View Full Version : Creative Assembly Bunch of new E3 shots

hoom
07-24-2008, 23:14
http://www.totalwar-zone.de/index2.php?g=etw&id=5
(found link at TWC)
Some pretty good land battle shots there.
Some show 2 ranks firing & I think at least one is showing 3 ranks.

Sheogorath
07-24-2008, 23:27
Well, looks like Russia is confirmed.
I can only hope those are very early-era screenshots, though. I cant say as I fully approve of the odd headgear. I'm fairly sure that by 1700 Peter had most of the army in tricorns and wouldnt've tolerated any sillyness involving funny hats which werent approved by western europe :P

Divinus Arma
07-25-2008, 00:10
Somebody can feel free to correct me, and I am no expert on the period, but something seems odd about riflemen in a formation 12 across and 8 deep, give or take. Those shots of deep formations seem very strange.

CBR
07-25-2008, 00:22
I must admit I'm starting to get tired of watching formations in 6+ ranks...

What about showing off the uber size of the ETW battlefield instead of all the soldiers bunched up in a small field.

CBR

Sheogorath
07-25-2008, 00:54
Somebody can feel free to correct me, and I am no expert on the period, but something seems odd about riflemen in a formation 12 across and 8 deep, give or take. Those shots of deep formations seem very strange.

Riflemen, maybe, but I've heard that the reason people didnt use musketeer formations more than three men deep was because people occasionally got shot in the back of the head with four-man deep formations.

Although it might just be a game mechanic, and only the first three ranks are firing. Its kind of hard to tell from the screenies.

Belgolas
07-25-2008, 01:00
they probably did it for marketing reasons.

Quote from Jack Lusted

Or as has been said before they are just in a block for the screenshot. By default line infantry deploy in thin lines.

Mailman653
07-25-2008, 05:06