PDA

View Full Version : lib Chasing the enemy

Klaatu
01-05-2001, 09:47
In order to win a battle must I chase the enemy until I see the victory screen? The reason I ask is, I recently had a battle where I had killed the enemy general and got a message saying the enemy was running. They left the map and I was alone waiting for my victory screen when the time expired and I was pronounced "defeated". I am new to the game and was wondering was I suppose to do something else? There was plenty of time for them to leave the map before the time expired so I'm certain I should have won. Thanks

Shadelord
01-05-2001, 09:49
they hide one unit and you don't find it you lose http://www.totalwar.org/ubb/frown.gif so you have to make sure every thing is gone

------------------
You are already dead you just don't know it yet!!

Clan Shades Website
http://www.geocities.com/shadesofshogun/index.html

Anssi Hakkinen
01-05-2001, 22:03
If the enemy army starts to flee, pursue them. Order all your units to charge the routing enemies, this way they get more kills & experience. Once you have chased them all the way to the map edge and about 2/3rds of them have crossed the edge and vanished, the battle should end. If not, immediately start combing through the forests and similar terrain that may hide more enemy units - you only win if you rout *all* enemies.

------------------
"Crystal clear, / Sharp and bright, / The sacred sword / Allows no opening / For evil to roost."
- Ueshiba Morihei O-Sensei

Soapyface
01-05-2001, 22:53
Scour the woods for the hiding enemy.

I agree with Anssi you want to chase a fleeing army to get more kills and experience, but I wouldn't order all my units to charge after the routing enemy, only the faster units: horses, YA, no-dachi. Slower units won't catch the enemy and will only become tired.