PDA

View Full Version : Rome Conversion

Dogfish
03-03-2009, 06:58
I plan on organizing or at least contributing to a Rome conversion for Empire. I don't have many details yet, and obviously alot depends on how moddable Empire is, but post-release I will update this thread with more information. With all the capabilities of the new engine (New campaign map stuff, naval combat, etc) I think the potential is there for revisiting a different, earlier era of empires.

I haven't ever done a mod for TW, but I'm a programmer by day, and a capable 3d modeller/animator by night, so I feel confident that I'll be able to get some stuff going. Right now I'd like to gauge the interest level out there for something like this and see if there's anybody that would be interested in helping out!

What say you, Orgahs?!

pevergreen
03-03-2009, 08:35
Although the Roman era is my favourite period of time, I just don't see this current engine working.

The ship combat is gunpoweder, not ramming, the units are ranged. I just can't see a non gun game working too well in this engine. :no:

I'd still like to see it.

richyg13
03-03-2009, 08:48
Although the Roman era is my favourite period of time, I just don't see this current engine working.

The ship combat is gunpoweder, not ramming, the units are ranged. I just can't see a non gun game working too well in this engine. :no:

I'd still like to see it.

Those were my concerns but I think with some experimenting, you could find out how viable the idea is.

Ibn-Khaldun
03-03-2009, 12:56
I like this idea!
Since there are galleys in the game then I don't think it would take much to make ramming possible.

Dogfish
03-03-2009, 15:13