PDA

View Full Version : Army Camps off the battle map

cpdwane
07-06-2010, 20:47
Hi I'm new to these forums, as i ma a refugee from TWC, which as you will know is currently down.

Any way, as any student of military history will know, armies (particularly large ones) never marched and fought in isolation, as always had a string of camp followers, wives, cooks, smiths, servants and mules following their progress that were often just as large as the army they were following!!

Although I am no expert in Japanese warfare i can say with some confidence that this would have applied to them as well. So my idea is, wouldn't it be good if, just off the edge of the battle map there was a camp for each army, or perhaps just the defenders, not a fancy one with walls, just rows of tents and equipment, and maybe the odd scurrying figure running frantically between them.

If these camps were included on the battle map, they would make ideal objectives and would fit in with CA's plan to make certain key buildings capturable on the battle map. They would add another, vital element for the player to defend as if the winners of the battle had had their camps pillaged they could suffer from movement and supply penalties in the larger campaign.

What do you think?

Peasant Phill
07-06-2010, 21:44
It's a good idea but I fear that adding more complexity to the battles themselves may be to much for the already strained battle AI.

cpdwane
07-06-2010, 21:59
It's a good idea but I fear that adding more complexity to the battles themselves may be to much for the already strained battle AI.

Bear in mind that CA are already planning on adding building objectives to the battle maps, so if they think the AI will be up to that, it will be fine for this as well.

Cecil XIX
07-06-2010, 23:48