PDA

View Full Version : Newbie's first question?

Brother Derfel
11-26-2002, 21:39
Hi, I am new to Medival Total War so please excuse me if this question has a rather obviouse answer

The question is, how does Medieval decide when a general should get an extra command star?It seems to me as though unless a General starts with a high command, then it is very difficult to progress above 4 stars (except with titles). For example i have had a 5 star general that has won many battles, but does not seem to increase in command any further, yet there are 8 star generals that must have got there somehow.

Any response would be much apreciated.

thanks

Gregoshi
11-26-2002, 23:52
Brother Derfel, we welcome you to our humble abode.

It must be command star week as your's is the second such question on the subject. I don't know how many wins it takes to get another command star. I seem to recall in STW it was 8 wins, but I don't know if MTW is the same. Other, wiser men will no doubt be here soon to answer that question. I do know that some generals start at a certain level command level, especially if they are a historical figure. Vices & Virtues also affects the command rating.

seamusmoon
11-27-2002, 00:18
Brother-

So far the only time I've ever seen one of my generals promoted (given another star) by the game, and not via a title, is after the successful defense of a province when his army was outnumbered. This seems more likely to happen if the province is quite valuable or if the generals army is greatly outnumbered. I'm guessing it has something to do with his unit earning multiple valour levels in a single battle or earning a number of valour levels over several battles (meaning his unit's valour remained undiluted by merging with other lower valour units or being repaired after a series of battles). I'm not sure which it is (it could be both), I'll have to play some more to find out.

desdichado
11-27-2002, 03:01