PDA

View Full Version : Weapons need impact points

Acronym
03-10-2003, 08:18
One thing I've noticed in the TW games is the weapons are not in 3d space. The weapons are assigned values and different "rock paper scissor" attributes(spears beat cav, sword beat spears), but what would be nice, and is possible with a 3d engine, is if weapons actually take up space on a 3d plain. So if any swordsmen get in close to spearmen, the spearmen are gonna get ripped apart, yet if a unit has 12ft spears then they should be able to hold the other unit from getting in close.

I'm not an xpert programmer, so I don't know what kind of number crunching collision detection would be needed, but more collision detection would make larger shields and longer spears serve a better purpose.

some_totalwar_dude
03-10-2003, 19:25
very good idea. This would ad more realism to the game. The one thing I missed in Medieval is the spear/shield wall.
But this way you could make a realistic phalanx, one that (almost) couldn't be beaten with a headon attack.\
also the effect of a broken Phalanx could be better simulated than before.

Acronym
03-10-2003, 21:51
Exactly what I had in mind, since I am a greek/helenistic freak I really want to see hoplites/phalanxes properly simulated.

Stormer
03-10-2003, 22:05
yes this would be great but what the hell would be ale to get near theses hoplites http://www.totalwar.org/forum/non-cgi/emoticons/confused.gif

longer spears http://www.totalwar.org/forum/non-cgi/emoticons/idea.gif

Michael the Great
03-10-2003, 22:32
I hope CA are listening to this...I've seen they did listen to most of the things we asked for,if this would be included,it would be THE BEST of all of them.

Hakonarson
03-10-2003, 22:39
I thought that's what the "hold formation" function was for - it simulated a shield wall by increasing teh defence at eth expense of decreasing the offence - seemed to work OK for me.

econ21
03-12-2003, 11:29