PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions on how to commit Feigned Retreats

Loose Cannon
10-22-2003, 03:47
Feigned retreats: this is one of the most difficult maneuvers to conduct amidst the field of battle... any suggestions???

Im going to compile, with The Org's permission, a grand tactical manual to be posted for all its members...

Snowhobbit
10-22-2003, 07:40
Use withdraw from battle, its easier to get control of the units that way...
Im not an expert on this strategy...

Brutal DLX
10-22-2003, 11:14
I doubt this maneuver's usefulness in this game. In MP it is pretty pointless, as the maps being played on are rather small, and in SP the AI is already stupid enough http://www.totalwar.org/forum/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif and they will simply follow you as I think they can see your general always.
If, however, you absolutely have to do it, then split your forces during setup, hide infantry and slow moving units in woods, or behind hills, move cav and fast moving units/missile troops up front and skirmish with the enemy, then let maybe one or two units attack and withdraw the rest once those two units have been defeated. Retreat back to your hidden units, but at angle, then hit the enemy in the flank with your rested units, while also charging again with retreating units.
Needless to say, this only works on some maps.
Occasionally, you might be able to lure enemies on bridges on rivermaps when they are defending.

King John II
10-22-2003, 11:29
I imagine that a mounted unit would suffer fewer casualties while disengaging.

And I wonder whether the tactic would work a little better against opposing troops prone to make undisciplined charges?

It is said that in the battle of Hastings William the bastard induced the saxon house carls to break their shield wall and charge down off a hilltop by feigning retreat. When the normans had lured the saxons down off the hill their armoured knights turned and began a slaughter which ended the battle.