PDA

View Full Version : STW/WLE Online Ends In February?

Methos6848
10-22-2003, 06:41
I would've posted this at the proper thread, at the Sword Dojo, had I been allowed to do so. Sadly, none of this is speculation. I posted the following at the Total War forums earlier today:

I was really surprised to have discovered this, last Sunday, whilst perusing a local EB. I picked up the Warlord edition, roughly a month ago, new sans the box, in a jewel case. I've been tempted to pick up a boxed version, just cause I love the game so and a backup would'nt be a bad idea. I studied the box because I wanted to know if it contained a print version of the brilliant and aesthetically pleasing PDF manual. That was when I discovered the following, in tiny print, on the bottom of the box:

*Online gameplay fo Shogun: Total War Warlord Edition will be available only through 2/12/04 subject to online terms of use and all feautures may not be available at the time of purchase. Please check online at www.totalwar.com for more information and terms of use.

I was able to qoute that because I checked last night and the very words on the box are also found, in even smaller print, on the back of the WLE jewel case.

I've come to thoroughly enjoy multiplayer online games. The caliber and character of everyone I've encountered playing online has, so far, been fantastic It would be a shame if we Shogun enthusiasts were denied sharing our enthusiasm and disallowed to continue our brilliant battles. Sure, Shogun might be an old game, but it's a great game and deserves to offer a lengthy online experience for old and new players alike.

I'm pretty surprised that I'm the only one, thus far, to have replied to this alarming bit of news, as posted by Shcassacazz.
Those of us who persist in playing Shogun online should look into what we can do to extend this wretched and fast coming deadline for the termination of online play. I, for one, would hate to see online play cease.

dessa14