PDA

View Full Version : MTW crash to desktop



Tricky Lady
06-10-2004, 23:22
Hi,
I have a very very annoying problem with my MTW installation...

When I hit ESC (when saving a game) MTW very often crashes to desktop.

I am really wondering why this happens (it is something recent).

I have MTW-VI, patch 2.01 installed. I purchased MTW+VI a couple of months ago, and never experienced this CTD problem. As a matter of fact, with the 2.01 patch, I never had CTDs, until say 2-3 weeks ago.

Can anyone help me?
Or should I post more details? If yes, just tell me which specs I should mention...

http://www.totalwar.org/forum/non-cgi/emoticons/wave.gif

Tricky Lady
06-15-2004, 20:37
hehe, read some other posts in this forum, and I suppose my problem will be solved smoothly...

sorry for having posted this topic http://www.totalwar.org/forum/non-cgi/emoticons/gc-blush.gif

Moderators, feel free to lock/delete/erase this topic.

TL

Sjakihata
06-15-2004, 20:53
What was the problem then?

Kraellin
06-15-2004, 22:34
and what was the solution?

K.

Tricky Lady
06-17-2004, 18:35
Well yes and no.

A few days ago I found a thread-with-link in the Entrance Hall (iirc) where Mouzaphaerre replied with some general tips that helped him getting rid of his CTD problems.

The main tip was: save before touching anything, then game on.

So me happy, all problems fixed, I thought.

Everything went smooth, until yesterday. Played a campaign. Didn't save for 4 or 5 years. And then, when I hit ESC the game crashed to desktop again. Grr. No autosaved files available, so I have to play the last 5 years all over again. http://www.totalwar.org/forum/non-cgi/emoticons/gc-sad.gif

I don't know what causes the problem.

It seems that the break factor is "not saving for +3 years" or something, although this sounds a bit unlogic to me.
The trouble is that I've never had many CTD's before, not in MTW 1.1 nor in VI 2.01. But since last month this weird CTD-when-hitting-ESC happens more than I'd like to. http://www.totalwar.org/forum/non-cgi/emoticons/angry.gif

I'll try to solve this with a reinstall, and if that doesn't help... well, I don't know what to do then. You'll see me back then http://www.totalwar.org/forum/non-cgi/emoticons/gc-wink2.gif

cheers
TL

Sirrvs
06-18-2004, 05:01
Any luck solving it? I've just become aware of the problem too. And I KNOW this didn't happen to me before in the other savegames I was using. Maybe it has something to do with the number of troops you have in the game.

Sirrvs
06-20-2004, 05:47
Just wanted to give this thread a bump and also say I've figured out that it doesn't necessarily happen only if you don't save for a number of years. For me, it happens even if I just try to save after a long battle. I keep trying to play this autosave I have where its like 5000 of my men vs 8000 of the enemy and since the battle takes so long, it crashes when I try to save after.

Red Harvest
06-20-2004, 05:54
Quote[/b] (Sirrvs @ June 19 2004,22:47)]Just wanted to give this thread a bump and also say I've figured out that it doesn't necessarily happen only if you don't save for a number of years. For me, it happens even if I just try to save after a long battle. I keep trying to play this autosave I have where its like 5000 of my men vs 8000 of the enemy and since the battle takes so long, it crashes when I try to save after.
Are you saving between battles? Or at the beginning of the new turn after the battle? I don't trust the quick saves between battles.

Sirrvs
06-20-2004, 06:14
Ah, I usually save after the battles are over. I guess I'll just have to give up that particular savegame. Can't believe no one has found a solution for this yet.

webwing
06-21-2004, 04:18
Well,
I have CTD too but before the battles after i clic a botton on the window prior to the battle.
Anyway is ther a shortcut to save the games?
Or do I have to press ESC and go to the save menus all the time?

thanks.

Kraellin
06-21-2004, 05:42
Quote[/b] ]I am really wondering why this happens (it is something recent).


Quote[/b] ]The trouble is that I've never had many CTD's before, not in MTW 1.1 nor in VI 2.01. But since last month this weird CTD-when-hitting-ESC happens more than I'd like to.

the first question i always ask myself on these is, what did i change? and i dont mean just with the game or game settings, though, those might do it also. have you installed anything recently, other software or hardware, changed drivers of anything, altered any video, sound, or desktop settings, or had any other program alter them for you, including games or possibly adware, spyware and so on.

after that, if there really isnt anything, then is it just doing it on this one campaign? have you tried a new campaign and does it do it on that one also or does it seem limited to just that one campaign.

checking all of that may or may not find you an immediate solution, but it shld at least cut down the possibilities.

K.

Tricky Lady
06-21-2004, 22:35
Well, the only thing I changed recently is that I play MTW on another Windows XP "level" (errr... don't know how to explain it, but when I bought my computer I had set up two "users" on my PC, one for regular stuff such as surfing and emailing, and one for game purposes. As the "game user" suffered a lot from the annoying rasautou.exe pop up -ref. to other topic- I decided to play my games on the "standard user" level. No pop-ups anymore since then). The problem is that I really can't remember that the CTDs already happened when playing on the "game user" level. I think not, but I am not 100% sure.
So perhaps it's got something to do with low memory or a virus scanner/firewall that I forgot to disable? Got to check this next time I launch MTW.

Another remark: I have 3 MTW installs on my PC. One for my own single player campaigns, one for PBM campaigns and one for MTW vanilla PBM campaigns.
It is only the first install that crashes. The two other work fine (on both user levels). No CTD at all (knock on wood).

It's also not related to a particular campaign. It happens in most of my campaigns, as long as I loaded it in the "first" MTW install.

For the moment I counter the problem by saving the game every turn. But sometimes I forget to save it for a few turns, and that when the CTD occurs (not saving for +3 turns = blam bye bye data).

I'm puzzled. I've been too lazy to do it yet, but I should try reinstalling the game. Perhaps this might help?

http://www.totalwar.org/forum/non-cgi/emoticons/gc-smiley.gif

YAKOBU
06-21-2004, 23:05
Hi Tricky Lady #http://www.totalwar.org/forum/non-cgi/emoticons/wave.gif

Sorry to hear your having trouble with CTD's; our Italian campaign going to take forever #http://www.totalwar.org/forum/non-cgi/emoticons/gc-jester.gif

I have no real advice except what I already told you, It is now second nature for me to Ctrl S every turn. Sometimes if I have a lot of provinces to check and decisions to make I do it 2 or 3 times a turn to be on the safe side lol

I think you just need to get into the habit. It is a small price to pay for such an exceptional game #http://www.totalwar.org/forum/non-cgi/emoticons/wink.gif

Until we meet on the battlefield #http://www.totalwar.org/forum/non-cgi/emoticons/bigthumb.gif

P.S. Not the greatest supporter but Croatia 2 England 4, Rooooooooooooney #http://www.totalwar.org/forum/non-cgi/emoticons/gc-balloon.gif #http://www.totalwar.org/forum/non-cgi/emoticons/gc-balloon.gif #http://www.totalwar.org/forum/non-cgi/emoticons/gc-balloon.gif

barocca
06-22-2004, 00:30
Quote[/b] (YAKOBU @ June 21 2004,16:05)]It is now second nature for me to Ctrl S every turn. Sometimes if I have a lot of provinces to check and decisions to make I do it 2 or 3 times a turn to be on the safe side lol

I think you just need to get into the habit. It is a small price to pay for such an exceptional game #~;)
same problems i have here,
i use the same solution too..

Tricky Lady
06-22-2004, 18:12
Quote[/b] (YAKOBU @ June 21 2004,23:05)]I have no real advice except what I already told you, It is now second nature for me to Ctrl S every turn. Sometimes if I have a lot of provinces to check and decisions to make I do it 2 or 3 times a turn to be on the safe side lol
Okay. Gotta get used to Control-saving each turn.

Ctrl S

Ctrl S

Ctrl ...errr... -think- oh yes http://www.totalwar.org/forum/non-cgi/emoticons/idea.gif S

Thanks guys

http://www.totalwar.org/forum/non-cgi/emoticons/gc-thumbsup.gif

Kraellin
06-22-2004, 23:23
oh, ok. well that does narrow things down. if you've got 3 installs all under the same user account, and only one of them is doing this crash, then guess what, you've either got a corrupt file somewhere, or more likely just a corrupt campaign file. mtw still has quite a few bugs, despite the patches.

so, what you do now is, start a new campaign. run it and see if it still does this same crash. dont delete your current campaign save yet. just start a new one and play it as a test. if it does the same thing, these crashes, then i'd uninstall the game and reinstall. if it doesnt do it, then it's most likely the campaign itself has a corruption in it, or one of those quirky bugs that show up. you either live with it, or scrap it, if that's the case. there's no fixing those corrupted campaign saves.

K.

Tricky Lady
06-24-2004, 21:15
I'll live with the corrupted campaigns. Hitting Ctrl-S does the trick for the moment.

Still got to start that test campaign though, but I guess I'll be alright now.

Thanks
http://www.totalwar.org/forum/non-cgi/emoticons/wave.gif

HicRic
06-25-2004, 17:51
This exact same problem is happening to me, now. I have no multiple installs, no mods or anything. Seems like a bug in the game.
I was playing for a while, hit escape, and it went normally to the menu, I saved fine, and so on. I did this every now and again for an hour or two, and then one time after I hadn't saved for half an hour, I decided "hey, I'll save again" and the game quit when I hit escape. This happened just after a 1000 vs 1000 battle I played. Now, no matter how many turns I use (the autosave keeps my game alive) whenever I press escape, the game CTDs. Every time. Argh # http://www.totalwar.org/forum/non-cgi/emoticons/gc-furious3.gif

For the interested an knowlegable, I post here an error log from this irritating thing:

Errors for session started: Mon Jun 21 12:01:32 2004

C:\Source\VikingsPatch\Crusaders_TW\safebackscreen .cpp(111) : DirectX call : D3DERR_SCENE_END_FAILED
Errors for session started: Wed Jun 23 11:24:55 2004

C:\Source\VikingsPatch\Crusaders_TW\main3d_1.cpp(7 115) : DirectX call : DDERR_SURFACELOST
Errors for session started: Thu Jun 24 16:25:31 2004

C:\Source\VikingsPatch\Crusaders_TW\main3d_1.cpp(7 115) : DirectX call : DDERR_SURFACELOST
C:\Source\VikingsPatch\Crusaders_TW\main3d_1.cpp(1 929) : DirectX call : DDERR_SURFACELOST
C:\Source\VikingsPatch\Crusaders_TW\main3d_1.cpp(1 929) : DirectX call : DDERR_SURFACELOST
Errors for session started: Fri Jun 25 15:52:22 2004

C:\Source\VikingsPatch\Crusaders_TW\safebackscreen .cpp(111) : DirectX call : D3DERR_SCENE_END_FAILED

Looks like some kind of DirectX problem. I installed the DirectX included on the VI disk (and this hasn't happened many other times I've entered the menu, don't forget) and changed nothing to cuase this error (after all, I was playing the game continuously and it went from working to CTDing).
I have a VooDoo 2 16mb graphics card, I believe. Perhaps this is an unsupported card or something, and so leads to occasional errors like this?

Kraellin
06-26-2004, 17:48
Quote[/b] ]C:\Source\VikingsPatch\Crusaders_TW\safebackscreen .cpp(111) : DirectX call : D3DERR_SCENE_END_FAILED
Errors for session started: Wed Jun 23 11:24:55 2004

that looks a lot like a 'move screen to back and move other screen to front' type error, which could very well be the culprit which is causing this hang/crash situation with mtw and the escape key.

yes, it's a CALL to directx, but i doubt it's the directx code itself. could be, but i would guess not. it could also be a refresh or driver issue, but again, i'm a bit suspicious of the mtw code itself on this one. it shldnt be anything but an API (application program interface) call, but other programs doing the same thing dont seem to have this problem, so, i dont know. since it seems to be an intermittent thing, and only seems to crop up after the game has been played for a while, it almost seems related to the number of game saves or auto-saves.

different folks have experimented with deleting the auto-save files and normal save files, but i dont recall the results right now. i remember having a freeze at the end of the game and trying to exit, but not too much of a problem with the escape key stuff, though i do think it's happened once or twice, but seemed rare enough that i didnt bother trying to 'fix' it.

control-s is your friend. use it before hitting escape and try red harvest's solutions on saving.

any computer program is always going to be subject to infrequent 'glitches', where you might get a freeze or ctd. there is just a TON of stuff going on in the background of winxp, and some of it you just cant prevent. windows itself is constantly 'looping', checking for commands given, stuff running, and so on. the amount of stuff going on these days in the background is just mind-boggling. it's not too surprising that every once in a while something conflicts with something else and the computer just goes 'enough i quit'. trimming windows, keeping as little background programs going as possible, good heat control and power supplies and doing regular maintenance stuff like defragging, registry cleaning and disk checking, can all help to minimize these 'glitches', but nothing is ever going to completely eliminate them.

K.

HicRic
06-27-2004, 10:30
Okay, thanks. I don't keep as good care of my computer as I should really, what with my not doing defrag and scandisk very much. There's all kinds of stuff that my family have put on here as well...it's quite a mess. http://www.totalwar.org/forum/non-cgi/emoticons/wink.gif

One more thing, though: Those error logs start with "C:\source". Umm, I don't have any such directory on my c: drive. Is that what is causing the problem? Or is this directory created temporarily when the game runs, and then removed when it finishes?

Kraellin
06-27-2004, 21:12
hmm, i dont either. those could be old debug items then. they left a number of these things in the code and they are pretty much meaningless then. they show up in the log files but arent 'active' in any other way... i think.

CA posted an explanation of those a while back, but i've no idea where to find that post now.

K.

HicRic
06-28-2004, 17:32
I've been using the ctrl+s thing to save and stuff, and I've been fine. (only doing at start of turn, as I've heard it can cause problems if you do it at the end?)

Oddly, this has only occured two or three times and never come back now. Guess I should be thankful. http://www.totalwar.org/forum/non-cgi/emoticons/biggrin.gif

Kraellin
06-28-2004, 20:19
cool beans :)

K.

Quokka
07-17-2004, 12:39
I am having a lot of CTD's lately. I have 2 installs, one for MedMod 3.14 and one for MTW 2.01.

The problem is that in both installs I am reaching points in campaigns that can't be crossed. Saves are successful and so are loads but once I hit 'End Turn' it goes throught the 'Thinking' phase fine until it gets to whoever is last and then CTD. I have reloaded all of my current, or I wish were current, campaigns and tried various things to alter the course of history. Some are complex as my 2.01 Turks own a huge chunk of land and some are simple as my 2.01 Sicilians are cowering from a Byzantine Behemoth.
No matter what after the first CTD the campaign is doomed to CTD every time I hit 'End Turn'.

For the 2.01 install I have modded the UNIT_PROD texts some, both with and without Gnome. I also tried the saves with the original UNIT_PROD as most of my changes were Valour Bonus regions and not unit stats and nothing works beyond this certain point.

Any Ideas?

Dr Strangelove
07-17-2004, 16:48
Hi Since I just bought this game and can't start a new topic. I'm posting in this thread to ask for help. I'm also having a crash problem, but not just whenever I hit ESC. The game crashes to desktop spontaneously and randomly. The good news is that it usually stays on the taskbar so 80% of the time I'm able to re-activate it. The quirk is very annoying and disrupts the flow of the game. There's also 20% of the time when the game is unrecoverable.
I've already tried many of the usual tweeks listed elsewhere on the board. I lowered all of the performance tweaks, lowered the screen resolution to a minimum, reduced the sound quality. I tried using my old wire mouse instead of my Intellipoint wireless (but I did not remove the wireless). I turned down the color resolution on my computer. I'm still having a problem.
To make matters more complicated I also have problems running battles. Using the tutorial I had no problems at all, but when I went to a campaign game I began having problems both with erratic behavior of the cursor and crashes. The tweaks did not help. I tried turning down the camera speeds also.