PDA

View Full Version : Finished Baldur's Gate after 7 years

econ21
09-12-2004, 00:45
I finally got around to finishing the first Baldur's Gate (with the Sword Coast add-on). Since I first started playing it when it came out (1998?), I reckon I've been playing it off and on for around 7 years. I always used to burn out when I got to the city of Baldur's Gate (maybe a 2/3 of the way through the game?) but in the current drought of good games, I resolved to load up an old save and see it through.

Anyone else appreciate this classic? For some reason, I really liked the rather slow pace - endless clearing of large maps of wilderness or city - and the slow unfolding of a momentus story. It felt like an authentic epic, rather than some instant gratification roller-coaster experience. Some of the bigger sidequests - Durlag's Tower, Balduran's Island - were nicely done and the main plot developed in chapters 6 and 7 in a satisfying way. The climatic battle was a b**** and after half a dozen turns (I had no summoning capacity), I switched off the game but then decided to have one more go and miraculously pulled off a victory despite merely trying to survive rather than key the bad guy. In retrospect, the difficulty made the ending of the game sufficiently memorable and satisfying, rather than anti-climatic.

Now, the only thing I have to decide is whether to load up my old incomplete savegame of Baldur's Gate 2!

Efrem Da King
09-12-2004, 04:02
HAH

Go play a half decent game like morrowind.

BG and BG2 suck.

Fragony
09-12-2004, 06:57
Good game, a bit tough to get going tho. You will probably like the sequal even more, it basicly improves on everything. It is my favourite traditional RPG, maybe only rivaled by planescape torment.

econ21
09-12-2004, 12:10
Ys, Baldur's Gate 2 is greatly improved - however, just as I burnt out in BG when I got to the city, in BG2, I lost motivation after coming out of the Underdark. Sometimes too much non-linearity came be a bad thing.