PDA

View Full Version : Creative Assembly Modding in R:TW compared to M:TW

Psyco
10-15-2004, 04:13
I'm a very novice modder, in both R:TW and M:TW, but what I have noticed is that M:TW's system was a lot better than the one in Rome. You were able to change more stats (movement speed) and it was easier to find where you had made a mistake (when there was an error, it gave an error report stating where the error was). Overall, it seemed more streamlined and easier to navigate.
Thoughts?

Jambo
10-15-2004, 09:38
I've been told you can enter the command line -show_err and that will inform you of any modding errors that cause crashes.

Midnight
10-15-2004, 09:55
That command has not caught a single one of my problems as of yet.

Duke John
10-15-2004, 10:28
With -show_err on I've caught alot more errors than with M:TW. With M:TW I largely depended on my experience and when the CTD occurred then depending on the few (inaccurate) dialog boxes.

Movement is still moddable but on a different level. It's now in the animation and that is alot more logical if you think about it.

M:TW was simpler and of course that makes it easier to mod.

I now prefer R:TW since we are almost capable of changing everything what was possible in M:TW and a lot more. If only we are able to add factions....

JeromeGrasdyke
10-15-2004, 10:33
That command has not caught a single one of my problems as of yet.

Mostly what it does is enable error checking in the script parsing. It certainly won't catch everything, but it will show a large number of simple gotcha's, such as misspelt commands, out-of-range values, and so on, and it will usually tell you the file name and line number where the error was found.