PDA

View Full Version : Misunderstandings and Prejudices in Mongol Expansion Units

Julian Kim
02-03-2001, 12:41
Hi, I'm a Korean who played STW a lot, but not these days because recently I'm very busy with my job.

I've read a lot of articles here too, but haven't posted a message mainly because I can say I'm not good at English. http://www.totalwar.org/ubb/smile.gif

I would like to comment a few things on the history regarding expansion pack, Mongol Invasion.

Well, I'm personally very interested in history in general, and Japanese history is no exception. Although I did not major in history at college, I have read a lot of books on Japanese history both written in Korean and Japanese, and even I have read a series of books on samurai in English(!) by Stephen Turnbull, a well-known British authority of Japanese history whom many of you will know because I wanted to know how her history is understood in view of western people.

As you know, the 3 countries in far east asia- Korea, China, Japan- they all use the Chinese Character in their languages, though pronounces a slightly different each other.

For example, the character meaning 'a person' is read 'ren' in Chinese, 'in' in korean, 'jin' in Japanese. Another a simple word, 'the light', could be 'ming', 'myung', 'mei' which some of you would be familiar with as the chinese dynasty name itself, the Ming dynasty.

Again, the Japanese word 'Kensai', which 'Keomsa' in Korean - which would be the name of an another additional unit to the expansion pack, can be very roughly translated as 'the Sword Master' but I don't personally think it's an appropriate usage. 'kensai' can't be a master, it should be at least 'Kensei' or 'Keomseong'.

What I'm trying to say by these boring examples is, that there are both very wide similarities and differences in 3 countries that are so subtle that I think most of you can't understand truly.