PDA

View Full Version : Pronunciation of the word \"NOBU\"

Maltz
06-28-2001, 03:01
Just a question about the pronunciation of names.

We know the word "nobu" (as in Oda NOBUnaga) is pronounced as
"Shin" in Uesugi KenSHIN and Takeda SHINgen. So why don't
people say Oda SHINxxxx or Uesugi xxxxNOBU, Takeda NOBUxxxx?
(btw Shingen's father was NOBUtora, same word).

I guess it's bcz Kenshin and Shingen got these names from the
temple (as their monk name), so people rather use the more
"Chinese-like" pronunciation instead of the Japanese original
sounds. Or are there some other reasons? http://www.totalwar.org/ubb/smile.gif

Koga No Goshi
06-28-2001, 06:26
Maltz,

I am a Japanese language student and you're probably talking about the difference between pronunciation of written characters. Written Japanese is very contextual in the sense that the same character at the beginning of a name or word is pronounced differently than if it's at the end. For example, the character for "tree" can be either "ki" or "moku", depending on which word it's being written in. A confusing side effect of the merging of two languages/writing systems in Japan. "Ta" in "Tanaka" is the same written character as "da" in "Sanada" or "Ishida."

------------------
Koga no Goshi

Why did you bring 16 Female Ashigaru? Keep clicking weather, they're only strong one week a month.

Toranaga sama
06-28-2001, 07:34
also, as a japanese language student, Koga no Goshi is right. The same goes for The word for divinity, or Gods, Kami. Kami is the individual spirits, whereas Shindo, the Way of the Gods, which begins with the same Kanji, is obviously different.

AHHHHH muzukashii, neh?

Maltz
06-28-2001, 07:49
What you say both make much sense, yet the "Shin" case here both appear in the first and second character.

Uesugi KenSHIN (2nd)
Takeda SHINgen (1st)
Oda NOBUnaga (1st)..

so I still don't get a clear idea of the rules.. http://www.totalwar.org/ubb/redface.gif

Koga No Goshi
06-28-2001, 09:44