PDA

View Full Version : Good governors

generaal11
01-14-2005, 13:14
Hi,

I just started playing RTW and I have question. I hope you guys can answer it.

I only have good generals they can`t govern towns very well. So my question is how do I get good governors because I can`t seem to get any good one`s. I don`t hove the money to bribe people. Can`t I train my own goveners?

Akka
01-14-2005, 13:22
Personnally, I found that managing governors was a horrible hassle (they constantly get new V&V, they age, they die...), so I resolved the problem by not using them at all.

Considering how much you bathe in outrageous amount of money in the game, that doesn't make any change.

Fridge
01-14-2005, 13:45
I agree with Akka - make sure you know where your good generals are, and unless you see a city revolting or shrinking for apparently no reason (then check your governor), any sap can look after a city.

But in terms of training, the most important things are temples - governors tend to get priests of whatever temple is in their city as followers - a temple that gives combat bonus will get priests who help with combat, a temple that gives pop bonuses may get priests who increase farm production etc. They'll also get vices and virtues related to the temple as well - temples of Dionysius tend to produce drunken old leches.

The best way of improving your governors is through academies and libraries. Leaving young family members in towns with a good academy will get them good stuff practically every turn. The other tip is don't leave them sitting on their arses too long. Just the odd excursion out of the city into combat can stop them turning into degenerates. That's what rebels are for...

Azi Tohak
01-14-2005, 21:26
That is a good point about keeping them mobile, but why can my 6 managment not make Pergamum love him? No happiness bonus! And he has only moved in about 5 turns ago!

Azi

Ar7
01-14-2005, 21:47