PDA

View Full Version : lord of the rings mod

enderwiggin6
06-20-2001, 11:37
i'm new to the shogun community as i just purchased the game. i've really enjoyed the massive scale of the game. i was wondering if its possible to edit the sprites and units, to make a lord of the rings mod for shogun. this engine just screams battle of helm's deep reenactment, and i'd be interested in putting in the work to create it. any info? thx.

Kraellin
06-20-2001, 20:33
enderwiggin,

we've had a number of folks ask similar questions and to date no one has really succeeded all that well. if you check the archives here you'll see a number of threads dealing with this.

CA (creative assembly, the develop folks) has apparently stymied us all so far regarding that type of mod. there was quite a bit of interest a while back in this but no one was able to answer the call and thus there are no mods of this nature around.

i'm sure there would be an immediate resurgence if someone were to crack the code used to do this. several different theme mods were suggested and there was also some who thought such mods would spoil the nature of the game, particularly if we started modifying the stats of the units, but frankly, i would welcome such mods, because despite the possibility of cheats, it adds a new diversity to an already fun game.

so, have a go at it. and if we're able to contribute something to your efforts along the way, why ok.

there isnt currently a lot of technical data about the files posted in the forum. mostly it's just wish list stuff. there are a couple of threads about the .bif files but that's about all i recall at the moment.

good luck :)

K.

BanzaiZAP
06-21-2001, 02:00
Hear hear!