PDA

View Full Version : Map Making - General Q&A

Alrowan
09-24-2002, 17:40
Ok well i thought it best to start here for making a thread for mapmaking and such. Here you just need to ask your questions, and then someone should be here to give an answer. It will save having to look through all the seperate threads to find what you want.

well my first question

Im making a map, and it is a castle seige, i started from scratch, how do i set the deployment zones?? or should i edit a pre-existing siege map??

2nd Question

What steps should i follow on adding units to make a historical battle?? (using the adf files ect.)

Bullethead
09-25-2002, 07:54
Alrowan said:
Quote Im making a map, and it is a castle seige, i started from scratch, how do i set the deployment zones?? or should i edit a pre-existing siege map??[/QUOTE]

Caveat: I'm new at this also so am probably wrong http://www.totalwar.org/ubb/smile.gif

Anyway, I don't think you have any control over deployment zones--those seem to be hard-coded to specific areas of the map. IOW, all maps of a given size have their deployment zones in the same place. The trick, therefore, is to learn where those places are and build your map around them.

You can get around this if you use the map for an historical battle because you get to specify the deployment position of each unit in the adf files. But for custom battles using your map, you're stuck with the default zone.

Of course, I could be wrong...

Quote What steps should i follow on adding units to make a historical battle?? (using the adf files ect.)[/QUOTE]

Well, I'm working on my 1st historical battle now so I'll tell you what's working for me...