PDA

View Full Version : What should I upgrade next?

Proletariat
02-03-2006, 18:52
Hello, everybody.

I bought my computer last November but I'm getting bored and have some cash to burn. For about 250 USD, any opinions on what I should upgrade next? I'm thinking graphics card here, but my pc knowledge is very amateur, at best.

AMD ATHLON(TM)64 3000+
160GB Hard Drive SATA150
Sckt939 MSI K8N NEO4-F nForce4
1024 MB (512MBx2) PC3200 DDR
NVIDIA Geforce 6600 GT 128MB

Thanks for any advice.

TosaInu
02-03-2006, 19:03
Hello Proletariat,

I'm far from an expert, but it doesn't look like you can buy any new part to replace an old component and really gain. It's simply too good.

So, I'ld expand. Ask yourself what you like: a digital camera, a webcam, printer/scanner/copier, more ram? Personally I'ld buy an extra harddisk: more space, but also the option to put more heavy programs on the first cluster (some speedgain), have OS and Swap on different disks, build a raid. Maybe an extra WD 10,000RPM Raptor.
Or buy another pair of DDR.

CBR
02-03-2006, 19:04
Hm yeah vid card seems to be the next thing for you to get then. A 7800GT is a very good card for its price. Dont know how much it costs in USA but should be around $300 I guess.

CBR

Sjakihata
02-03-2006, 19:05
definately a videocard. a 256 or 512 radeon card pci express

edit: another 1gig of ram wont do you any harm either

Beirut
02-03-2006, 19:31
If you have an AGP MB and don't want to change it, Nvidia just put out an AGP version of their 7800 series card with 256 megs. That would be a great step up from your present card.

Proletariat
02-04-2006, 00:00
I'm far from an expert, but it doesn't look like you can buy any new part to replace an old component and really gain. It's simply too good.

When I first decided I wanted a good gaming computer, I made the mistake of getting all of my hardware information from the gamespot forums. I was under the impression I was settling for a somewhat decent rig.

:dizzy2: