PDA

View Full Version : New Hard Drive suggestions

alman7272
02-08-2006, 20:41
I bought a new hard drive that's 250 GB (Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 - SATAII). I'm going to use it as my new main drive, while my old one will be formatted (because I've been having problems with drivers on it, I think so I want to clean it).

So here's what I'm doing, tell me if there's anything wrong. I've never done this before.

1) Install new hdd as master drive, old one as slave drive
2) Install XP onto new hdd
3) Partition new hdd like so

Disk 0

10 GB - system
180 GB - programs
60 GB - data

4) Move data from old hard drive to new hard drive
5) Format old hard drive
6) Install programs, etc onto new hard drive
7) Partition old hard drive

Disk 1

Paging File - 4 GB
Backups - 76 GB

are there any possible problems?

lars573
02-08-2006, 21:26
I asked my supervisor and he said that you might want to have some more space for system just incase.

alman7272
02-08-2006, 21:44
k, so making the new drive master wont kill off anything on the old drive even if it's made slave? because I'll allot 5 more GB to my system if that's ok.

Beirut
02-08-2006, 22:50
Hey Lars573,

Since you seem to be in the know; is it worth the trouble to have a second HD that you would use only for a specific game in order to get max FPS? I was thinking of getting an older, smaller 7200 HD and using that as an E: drive for just this reason.

What would you need on the second HD, besides the game itself, in order to run it?

alman7272
02-09-2006, 00:15
I know I'm not the person you addressed, but as far as I know, I think you'd only need to create a partition for the game to run on it. Basically, just install the drive, partition it, and then install the game into a directory on that drive and you should be set to go so long as your OS is installed on the other hard drive. That's what I think.

Beirut
02-09-2006, 01:10
Thanks.