PDA

View Full Version : Python

edyzmedieval
04-23-2006, 19:26
So, I started learning the Python language.:book:
www.python.org

Anyone know this language? Any feedback on it? Easy or hard to learn?
I want to learn this, along with modelling, so I can maybe start my own game in the summer. A couple from Turkey did that, which resulted Mount&Blade. Why can't I do that?

Thanks. :book:

LeftEyeNine
04-23-2006, 23:19
Sorry, I'll not be directly helpful but all I can say is that you have a good ambition, keep it going. Civilization 4 masterpiece is a game coded in Python and that should be enough to demonstrate its strength indeed. What's more, my homemate is a coding freak and he told me that his uncle had advised him a year ago, to start learning Python telling him that it was a really promising language to be very popular through the following years. And so it seems..

Keep it up! :2thumbsup:

edyzmedieval
04-24-2006, 20:41
So it seems. Mount&Blade is also made in Python.

Ok, started learning. ~D

_Martyr_
04-25-2006, 13:04
I'd say start with C++ and SDL, to write your first few games. C++ is still by far the most used language for gaming (and most other things at that...). SDL ( Simple DirectMedia Layer) is, from the website... "a cross-platform multimedia library designed to provide low level access to audio, keyboard, mouse, joystick, 3D hardware via OpenGL, and 2D video framebuffer", basically its a great set of libraries that takes care of most of the media and input/output of your game. Its a great place to start in my experience. Plus, having c++ under you belt will stand to you very well.