PDA

View Full Version : Decent gaming PC?

Joker85
06-07-2006, 17:41
Alright I think the time has finally come to get a new PC. I've had my old one for 4 years and even when I bought it it was nowhere near top of the line.

What I'm running now is a celeron 1.2g 512mb ram and a radeon9250. I've suprisingly been able to play RTW on medium settings pretty easy with large units and play most other games (not bf2, oblivion etc obviously) but enough is enough.

Anyway I've been doing some research and my budget is pretty tight so what I settled on was the following:

Athlon 3500+
Geforce 7600 GT
Asus A8N-VM CSM
2gb Ram
350w PSU

So it's cheap, fits in my budget, and looks like it will be able to take anything I can throw at it (I hope). But seeing as I'm not an expert I thought I'd get second opinions. Do you think this is decent enough to be able to play any games out there (including MTW2 eventually) on atleast high end medium settings and maybe even high)? Or will I find myself right back where I am right now in a year or so when new games are coming out?

Thanks.:2thumbsup:

fatsheep
06-07-2006, 20:23
Go for a good name brand 500 watt PSU. It might cost more but it'll be well worth the investment! Besides that it looks like a very nice gaming rig. :)

Beirut
06-07-2006, 22:14
That will be a nice rig. Though I would try to get a 7800 series card if at all possble. Cancel one of your Gigs of RAM and see if that allows you some money space for the 7800 card.

Granted, you want and need 2 Gigs of RAM in some games, but IMHO, you'll have more fun with the better video card than with the extra memory. You can always add to the RAM later. It's easier and cheaper than changing video cards.

orangat
06-07-2006, 22:24
Alright I think the time has finally come to get a new PC. I've had my old one for 4 years and even when I bought it it was nowhere near top of the line.