PDA

View Full Version : A guide to editing unit stats for 1.3 or later (most is relevent to pre 1.3 though)

Darkarbiter
11-27-2006, 07:42
Ok first off im so sick of people going anywhere and saying "this guys wearing a helm shouldnt that be 2 armour stat???" and then they go and modify the stat and find out the unit no longer works as it was intended.... anyway.
My examples are from RTR PE AE (although its relevent to any mod).

IMPORTANT: THIS IS A GUIDE FOR HUGE SETTINGS. I HAVE LITTLE TO NO EXPERIENCE WITH ANYTHING ELSE

Contents:
1. Defence/attack stats and attributes
2. Morale and atrributes
3. Mass/charges
4. Basic description of formations
5. Breif rundown on formation width and depth

There are 3 types of defence stats. Defence skill, sheild and armour.
Defence skill is melee defence from the front only.
Sheild is melee and ranged defence from the front only.
and armour is melee and ranged defence from all directions.

A common mistake is "this persons wearing xxx and xxx that meens he should have high armour". This is not allways true. As armour is the only defence from back attacks it should not allways be given low scores for anyone unarmoured. So let me get this straight giving 0 armour to a unit will make it vulnerable to flanking. The problem now arouses... what if a unit is good at melee defence from behind but not ranged or visa versa? Well not much can be done about that
apart from youll generally want melee stats higher then ranged stats so that ranged weopens are not overlly effective against low armoured units from behind.
Therefore when a singuler soldier is being attacked in melee from the front armour, defence skill and sheild are added together to calculate the chances of that soldier dieing and if their being attacked by range then its sheild+armour.