PDA

View Full Version : How to start modding

dulsin
12-20-2006, 20:19
:help:

I am new to the modding game and would like to just start by changing a few buildings around.

I have downloaded the export_descr_buildings.txt file and want to apply that to my game. How?

Do I need to build an entire Mod or can it be applied to the game one file at a time? I do not see any of these files in the game directory for MTW2.

dulsin
12-21-2006, 02:52
I have found the unpacker in the MTW2 folder and moved it to the correct directory acording to the readme file. After running the unpacker and deleting the files
data\descr_geography_new.txt
data\descr_geography_new.db

running the bat file

medieval2.exe --io.file_first

The game crashes on bootup. :oops:

Any ideas?

mor dan
12-21-2006, 22:51
from the Wiki:

https://forums.totalwar.org/vb/showthread.php?t=70892

i think this a much easier way to go about starting a mod. if you are dead set on using your current system without a mod folder, check the last few lines of your system.log.txt file in the main directory, or post it here so we can review it if you don't understand what you see.

Ungor
12-22-2006, 16:17
I also followed the instructions in the readme and unpacked everything in the world into my data folder like a sucker.

After deleting the two files recommended (and making no other changes) I get a crash on startup when using --io.file_first

Log reads:
10:02:40.375 [system.rpt] [always] CPU: SSE2
10:02:40.375 [system.rpt] [always] ==== system log start, build date: Oct 5 2006 version bld-medieval2-final-52 (29455) ===
10:02:40.390 [system.io] [always] mounted pack packs/data_0.pack
10:02:40.390 [system.io] [always] mounted pack packs/data_1.pack
10:02:40.390 [system.io] [always] mounted pack packs/data_2.pack
10:02:40.390 [system.io] [always] mounted pack packs/data_3.pack
10:02:40.390 [system.io] [always] mounted pack packs/data_4.pack
10:02:40.390 [system.io] [always] mounted pack packs/localized.pack