PDA

View Full Version : Touched by Fate (A story about Macedon)

Vorian
01-31-2007, 02:36
Note: This is my first attempt to write something like this and I did it at 3:00 in the morning. Please have patience for any spelling and grammar mistakes. English is not my mother-language.

Chapter One: Man of the Hour

Macedon at 273 bC faced a grim future. At the west, mighty Pyrrus threatened to take Pella and the earth was shaking under the feet of his terrifying elephants.At the south, the Koinon was preparing for revenge. Fortunately, spies brought to King Antigonos Gonatas the first good news he had in months. Areus, king of Sparta and elected leader of the Koinon had returned from Crete with no new recruits while his son Akrotatos had left Sparta with a small garrison to hunt down some revolted slaves. Antigonos was on his way to meet Pyrrus' armies, but decided to grasp the opportunity. He immediately sent messages to Korinthos for a surprise attack to be launched. His council was against the idea, since no general was in Korinthos at the moment, and the mighty city garrison
was under the command of a young, inexperienced man, captain Pantauchos of Pharsalla, a Greek town in Thessaly. However the king accepted the gamble. It was that moment when the fate of the Hellenistic world was sealed...

Summer 272 bC
Sparta

The smell of smoke and dead bodies was everywhere in the roads of Sparta. Pantauchos covered his nose as his horse passed through the agora, where the Spartans had made their last stand. Though he didn't like it, Pantauchos had ordered the extermination of three quaters of the population. Personally, as an educated Hellene, he would prefer to leave the once-glorious city unharmed but Macedonia needed money urgently since the coffers were empty. The people of Sparta had paid the price.