PDA

View Full Version : CTD after first screen, where should I look for the error?

Ellderon
02-06-2007, 16:15
Following the tutorial for making your own faction from nothing, I started making one.
I decided to go for the mod folder approach, as it's generally a smarter thing to do. Now I've been modding games for 6 years or so (from space-empire sims, shooters, strategies and RPG's) so I really have no problem with learning how to mod MTW2 (alltough it's one of the more trickier games to mod)

I made the faction (and banners, custom textures, units, UI stuff and practicly everything else that's not in the tutorial, but I placed it in a differrnt folder for I wanted to test just the bare faction with nothing extra - no banners, units, etc.) and started the mod.

I get the hourglass loading, then the first screen with the charging knights and then a black screen as hte hourglass spins on and on but nothing happens and the HD is quiet. When I press something the game chrashes and I get a unspecified error in the log.

the error has to be in one of the files but I didn't find anything. So I ask - which files are laoded immediately on game startup? - for it has to be one of those

Ellderon
02-08-2007, 00:13
Help PLS?

FrantzITA
02-08-2007, 20:11
i got this type of error when with the attachements in the modeldb file ... but how you can hope to find what error its ? can be a typing error anywhere... something that is missing ... when you mod you have to make a little step and control immediately if everything is working , if you go too far is impossible to find the error ...

Foz
02-08-2007, 20:49