PDA

View Full Version : MICs and reforms

Ancyrean
02-24-2007, 23:56
Hi everybody! ~:)

I'm new to EB and HUGELY impressed by it!!! Kudos to all who have contributed to its making!!! Awesome historywork, awesome detail and artwork, accuracy and game balance, as I can see even after a few turns of gameplay! ~:thumb: ~:thumb: ~:thumb:

I'm currently playing my first game (M/H difficulty) with the Romans. It's now 250 BC and I hold the entire Italian peninsula, all of Sicily, the Adriatic coast, the city of Carthage and the lands of the Epiriotes . However, there are a few things so far that I'm a little bit confused about, despite looking around in the EB forums (including the FAQ) for clarification.

I understand that your MICs are available in relation to the government type you institute. Among these, Type I govt is available only in regions marked as "Homeland". This is of course the case with my starting cities (Rome, Capua etc), and in those cities I can build Roman barracks to produce hastati, principes etc.

My immediate conquests in the north were the 3 regions controlled by the Eleutheroi, all marked as Homeland region. Of these, in Segesta I can build Roman MICs as well as auxillary MICs. But in Bononia and Patavium just to the east, despite also being marked as Homeland, Roman MICs never appear as an option in the build list. The situation is the same with Rhegion and Taras in the southern tip of Italia (both marked as Homeland), both of which I conquered...
I destroyed the Greek MICs in all these 5 new Homeland-marked cities upon taking them. Some other Greek origin buildings (blacksmith, port, etc) are still in place...It also seems like MICs don't appear in the building browser anywhere, homeland region or elsewhere.

Any clues as to why can't I build Roman MICs in these Homeland regions??? :inquisitive: I'm sure I'm doing something wrong but can't figure it out ~:( :n00b: