PDA

View Full Version : Seeking input/Advise - DL:TW

adembroski
03-03-2007, 20:09
Currently working on Dragonlance:Total War mod, looking for some input from others on this.

SERIOUSLY considering switching to Rome:TW for this mod.

A couple of factors...
- greater documentation, since I'm new to modding, i need that help. Much of the M2:TW documentation is recycled from R:TW, and I'm running into minor differences that are slowing me down significantly.
- More options, things like warcry not crashing to desktop, hoards, etc. make R:TW more attractive in terms of being able to add greater unit variety, greater gameplay variety in general.
- Better AI. Maybe I'm alone in this, but the opposition seems to be a much tougher opponent in Rome. Rome generals are far more audacious, while Medieval 2 generals tend to be very conservative.

On the other hand...
- FAR more skinning to do. With M2:TW, only a few units need to be totally reskinned. Most only need minor adjustments. With R:TW, I need to completely reskin pretty much every unit in the game.
- Game speed seems a lot better in M2:TW. Even heavy infantry seems to move at amazing speeds in Rome, and I prefer the slower pace.
- Really like the Castle/City system introduced in M2:TW, makes sense and is especially relevant in DL.

There are counter-points of course... the documentation and general easy of use is only going to improve for M2:TW, eventually there will be expansions to M2:TW that may add more options, and the AI has improved with one patch, likely a second will improve it further.