Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Changing unit models between factions.

  1. #1
    Member Member anubis88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    3,400

    Default Changing unit models between factions.

    Hi, I have a question for you experts.
    i'm wondering if it's possible and how to change unit models between factions.
    Example, i'm a little board in my Kart-Hadast campaign, so i would like to change mine Iberian Loricati scutari with the lusotanan ones etc... Just to make the game more enjoyable (it will be like having to different units)

    If anyone knows how to do this, i would be eternally gratefull to them
    Europa Barbarorum Secretary

  2. #2
    urk! Member bobbin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Tin Isles
    Posts
    3,668

    Default Re: Changing unit models between factions.

    You mean changing the skin? you need to look in descr_model_battle in the EB data folder. You'll see something like this.
    Code:
    ; Iberian infantry - Loricati Scutari -------> MISSING MED/LOW/LOWEST
    
    type				iberian_infantry_loricati_scutarii
    skeleton			fs_javelinman, fs_swordsman_barb		; throwing spear
    indiv_range			40
    texture				spain, eb/data/models_unit/textures/iberian/ebiberian_infantry_loricati_scutarii_aymar_spain.tga
    texture				egypt, eb/data/models_unit/textures/iberian/ebiberian_infantry_loricati_scutarii_aymar_egypt.tga
    texture				slave, eb/data/models_unit/textures/iberian/ebiberian_infantry_loricati_scutarii_aymar_slave.tga
    model_flexi			eb/data/models_unit/ebiberian_infantry_loricati_scutarii_aymar_high.cas, 15
    model_flexi			eb/data/models_unit/ebiberian_infantry_loricati_scutarii_aymar_high.cas, 30
    model_flexi			eb/data/models_unit/ebiberian_infantry_loricati_scutarii_aymar_high.cas, 40
    model_flexi			eb/data/models_unit/ebiberian_infantry_loricati_scutarii_aymar_high.cas, max
    model_sprite		spain, 60.0, eb/data/sprites/iberian/ebsprite_iberian_infantry_loricati_scutarii_spain.spr
    model_sprite		egypt, 60.0, eb/data/sprites/iberian/ebsprite_iberian_infantry_loricati_scutarii_egypt.spr
    model_sprite		slave, 60.0, eb/data/sprites/iberian/ebsprite_iberian_infantry_loricati_scutarii_all.spr
    model_tri			400, 0.5f, 0.5f, 0.5f
    just copy the Luso's texture and sprite addresses over the carthaginian ones. You might want to change the unit icons as well.


  3. #3
    Member Member anubis88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    3,400

    Default Re: Changing unit models between factions.

    wow thanks a billion Bobbin for your quick answer... It worked, i've changed the curisi and scutarii, and it's really awesome.

    Could you also please tell me where i can change the unit cards? Also, are the changes save-game compatible?

    Also what must i do to change the skin of the horses? That's what i want to change with the curisi, I did the same as with the scutari, the horses just didn't change
    Last edited by anubis88; 11-16-2009 at 20:44.
    Europa Barbarorum Secretary

  4. #4
    Member Member anubis88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    3,400

    Default Re: Changing unit models between factions.

    I figure'd it out how to change the horses, now i need only the help with the unit cards
    Europa Barbarorum Secretary

  5. #5
    urk! Member bobbin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Tin Isles
    Posts
    3,668

    Default Re: Changing unit models between factions.

    Look in the UI folder in the EB data folder, the unit card pictures are in the units and unit_info folders.


  6. #6
    Member Member anubis88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    3,400

    Default Re: Changing unit models between factions.

    Thanks Bobbin, you've been extremly helpful. I only have one more question. I started now a Pontos Campaign, and i would really like to give the reformed pontos bodyguards the look they had in EB1.1. Which means to give them the horses they had back then (they look more persian armourwise) instead of the ones they have now, which are the same as the chariots. I would like to do this so that the unit card matches the unit in game.

    Please help me if you can
    Last edited by anubis88; 11-26-2009 at 12:20.
    Europa Barbarorum Secretary

  7. #7
    urk! Member bobbin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Tin Isles
    Posts
    3,668

    Default Re: Changing unit models between factions.

    Yep sure, you need to find the unit entry for the bodyguard in the EDU
    Code:
    ;503
    type             hellenistic cavalry pontos late bodyguard
    dictionary       hellenistic_cavalry_pontos_late_bodyguard      ; Pontos Late Bodyguard
    category         cavalry
    class            heavy
    voice_type       Heavy_1
    soldier          hellenistic_cavalry_hetairoi_molossianagema_ponitclatebodyguard, 10, 0, 1
    mount            hetairoi companion horse
    mount_effect     elephant -1, chariot +2
    attributes       sea_faring, general_unit_upgrade, hide_forest, hardy
    formation        1.5, 4, 3, 6, 3, square
    stat_health      1, 1
    stat_pri         5, 44, no, 0, 0, melee, blade, piercing, spear, 200 ,0.4
    stat_pri_attr    ap
    stat_sec         11, 25, no, 0, 0, melee, simple, slashing, sword, 0 ,0.11
    stat_sec_attr    ap
    stat_pri_armour  15, 12, 0, metal
    stat_sec_armour  0, 0, metal
    stat_heat        4
    stat_ground      0, 0, -4, -2
    stat_mental      18, disciplined, highly_trained
    stat_charge_dist 30
    stat_fire_delay  0
    stat_food        60, 300
    stat_cost        1, 2122, 0, 100, 160, 2122
    ownership        carthage
    and change the mount line to read "hellenistic kataphraktoi horse", I think thats all you need to do. Good luck


  8. #8
    Member Member anubis88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    3,400

    Default Re: Changing unit models between factions.

    Unfortunatly it doesn't seem to work. As i change the entry in EDU and enter the game the bodyguards look the same, and after i go back to the EDU, the entry is changed back to the hetairoi companion horse.

    Any ideas my friend?
    Europa Barbarorum Secretary

  9. #9
    urk! Member bobbin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Tin Isles
    Posts
    3,668

    Default Re: Changing unit models between factions.

    Sounds like your running the game with the trivial script. You need to edit the EDU found in the "sp game edu backup" folder in the EB data folder.
    Last edited by bobbin; 11-27-2009 at 23:13.


  10. #10
    Member Member anubis88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    3,400

    Default Re: Changing unit models between factions.

    I changed everything in every EDU i could find, but nothing seems to help. Of course i only tried it in costum battle, since i don't have yet the reforms in my campaign, but the horses just don't change
    Europa Barbarorum Secretary

  11. #11
    urk! Member bobbin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Tin Isles
    Posts
    3,668

    Default Re: Changing unit models between factions.

    Hmm... ok there are three EDU's in the EB folder one in the "data" folder, one in the "sp game edu backup" ( when you select the single player option in the little window that pops up when you click on the EB shortcut this is copied over the EDU in the data folder) and one in the "mp game edu backup"( when you select the multiplayer option this copies over the EDU in the data folder) try making the change i suggested to all three, if that doesn't work then I'm afraid I can't help anymore, it should work.


  12. #12
    Member Member anubis88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    3,400

    Default Re: Changing unit models between factions.

    IT'S WORKING

    hehe... I missed the multiplayer EDU

    Thanks for the help mate
    Europa Barbarorum Secretary

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO