Thread: Visions of Grandeur: A Tale of the Julii

Default Visions of Grandeur: A Tale of the Julii

Visions of Grandeur: A Tale of the Julii

I have never written an AAR before, but since reading some I have always wanted to. I never expected it to be about the Roman Empire. I hope you enjoy reading it and I will keep it updated as the campaign progresses.

THE ROMAN EMPIRE 270 BC

ARRETIUM, ETRUTIA

War with the Etruscans and Samnites had delivered Etrutia and Umbria into the hands of the Julli family. To the south, the Brutii family had driven the Greeks out of Croton and Tarentum. The Scipii were engaged in an an ongoing war with the Carthaginians, and the Senate ruled over the Triumvirate patricians in Rome. Flavius Julius was heir to the Julii legacy and had inherited the cities of Arretium and Ariminum.

A diplomat clothed in purple arrived in Arretium to relay the Senate's wishes to Flavius Julius. Flavius' diplomat Sextus approached the Imperial messenger. "You have come from the Senate have you not?"

The Imperial messenger regarded Sextus disinterestedly. "Yes, I have a message for your liege, Flavius Julius. Lead me to him I pray you, for by the gods my work is not yet done here."

Sextus called for his lord, "Lord Julius! Imperator!" The senior diplomat looked ashamed before his Imperial counterpart. "I assure you I just saw him, follow me please."

"Lead on." The Senate's envoy followed unimpressed behind the flustered diplomat.

"Our Lord has been drilling for war you see, with the Gauls. They are after all right on our border. Our lord seeks to take northern Italy, so that we may halt the advance of the Gauls and other barbarians at the Alps." The diplomat explained as he looked through the palace for his lord.

"See to it that you do." Answered the envoy coldly.

The diplomat stopped a young general "Lord Lucius, have you seen your father?"