Thread: PC Speaker System

Bureaucratically Efficient Senior Member TinCow's Avatar

Default PC Speaker System

The left rear speaker of my PC system died a few days ago. It is a sad day, I've been using the same speaker system for over 12 years. I'd like some advice on what to replace it with. My current system is an Altec Lansing 5100, and I love it because of the small footprint of the speakers (2.5" x 2"). I really want to keep my desktop speakers as small as possible. These things do not need to put out a lot of sound, I only sit a few feet away at most. At the same time, I'm wondering if I really even need a 5.1 system. The way my desk is setup, it's impossible for me to actually have the rear speakers behind me. The rears are basically just to my extreme left and right, only a foot or two separated from front left and right. Dropping back to a stereo system would also reduce the number of wires I've got on and under my desk, and that's always a good thing. At the same time, I recall 2.0 system being significantly inferior for gaming, even with my non-optimal speaker placement.

So, anyone have any advice? I want a system that minimizes desktop real estate use and, if possible, wires, but still sounds good for gaming.

Nobody expects the Senior Member Lemur's Avatar

Default Re: PC Speaker System

Big fan of two-speaker systems, here. Never felt the needs to drill holes in the walls and surround myself with sound.

Lots of solid choices in the 2.1 arena. Logitech's top-end 2.1 gets consistently good reviews, for example.

If you're cursed with good ears, the M-Audios are basically studio reference monitors for your desktop. You can get them at a semi-reasonable price used.

As for surround v. stereo, I'll let someone who has experimented with both comment. I'm content with two channels, meself.

-edit-