Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Scripting

  1. #1

    Default Scripting

    Important points

    - You can use "give_trait this" to give the selected character a trait. -- found by Somec

    - The game doesn't have to be restarted to load a new campaign script. Restarting the campaign is enough

    - Show Me scripts don't have the same functionality as the campaign script. This is presumably because they are loaded on game start whereas the campaign script is loaded on campaign start. The exact problems are with map-related commands (i.e. stuff like spawn_army that uses coordiates)

    Docudemon files
    Which include a list of all commands and their syntax, can be found here:
    https://forums.totalwar.org/vb/showt...26#post1316726
    Last edited by alpaca; 12-14-2006 at 14:00.

  2. #2
    Harbinger of... saliva Member alpaca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,767

    Default Re: Scripting

    This supposedly removes the need for the infinite while loops at the end of scripts (from the campaign script):
    Code:
    ; keep script unfinised until last monitor termination
    	wait_monitors

  3. #3
    Shaidar Haran Senior Member SAM Site Champion Myrddraal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,752

    Default Re: Scripting

    I believe backgrounds scripts are now launched on loading of a savegame, giving us great opportunities.

    Here's waiting for the docudemon files.

  4. #4
    Harbinger of... saliva Member alpaca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,767

    Default Re: Scripting

    First post updated.
    The "give_trait this" command could be very useful if we can find a way to select characters with scripting.

    Edit: The "select_character <Name>" and, more importantly, "e_select_character" commands should do the trick. The "e_" prefix should select a character that triggered an event. Will test that.
    Last edited by alpaca; 11-21-2006 at 15:52.

  5. #5
    Shaidar Haran Senior Member SAM Site Champion Myrddraal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,752

    Default Re: Scripting

    Added the link to the docudemon files

  6. #6
    Harbinger of... saliva Member alpaca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,767

    Default Re: Scripting

    We should try to collect some information about the "log" scripting command. It works (i.e. it writes stuff to the log) only erratically. It logs all messages, but it seems to be pretty random when it writes them out.

  7. #7
    Harbinger of... saliva Member alpaca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,767

    Default Re: Scripting

    Added:
    - Show Me scripts don't have the same functionality as the campaign script. This is presumably because they are loaded on game start whereas the campaign script is loaded on campaign start. The exact problems are with map-related commands (i.e. stuff like spawn_army that uses coordiates)

  8. #8

    Default Re: Scripting

    I dont know if this is appropriate place but are the counters values stored in save file and reloaded on save load?

  9. #9

    Default Re: Scripting

    Looking at the file, it appears they have to - otherwise some of the vanilla script wouldn't work.
    Epistolary Richard's modding Rules of Cool
    Cool modders make their mods with the :mod command line switch
    If they don't, then Cool mod-users use the Mod Enabler (JSGME)
    Cool modders use show_err
    Cool modders use the tutorials database Cool modders check out the Welcome to the Modding Forums! thread Cool modders keep backups Cool modders help each other out

  10. #10

    Default Re: Scripting

    WOW great news. No more tricky and not 100% reliable memory cells.

  11. #11
    Member Member Re Berengario I's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    336

    Default Re: Scripting

    By experimenting I discovered that the add_money command has a maximum value of 40,000

  12. #12

    Default Re: Scripting

    Hello scripters!

    I'm experimenting with some disease traits right now, and using the campaign_script I'd like to kill off mortally afflicted characters...

    Now, to kill a character with the trait MortalScurvy = 1, does this script suffice?:

    monitor_event CharacterTurnEnd Trait MortalScurvy = 1
    console_command kill_character this
    end_monitor

    Apparently the game doesn't recognize 'this' when used with the kill_character command, though this is not the case when the command 'give_trait this X' is used.

    What exactly am I doing wrong here :P?
    Last edited by isellj0epnuts; 01-31-2007 at 05:15.
    Co-Author of Bloods, Broads and Bastards - a Traits and Ancillaries mod for M2TW

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO