Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 91 to 120 of 140

Thread: Setting reforms to your preference

  1. #91

    Default Re: Setting reforms to your preference

    I figured it out. It took some experimentation, but I got it. After I got the Emperor, I had to go back in to the files and then simply make the reforms unconditional. Presto chango. Magically, I had the capability to build Augustan-era cohorts.

    I'm intrigued (and glad) that the Evocata were still available. I was wondering about that. Seemed reasonable that they would be able to reenlist still. Unless I mucked something up and they shouldn't actually be available.

    Praetorians are pretty tough, but expensive. That's good since they demanded so much cash.

    Thanks for the help folks.
    From Theodotos I.

  2. #92
    Member Member Gothic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Posts
    35

    Default Re: Setting reforms to your preference

    If I want unconditional Imperial Reforms by the time I have more than 50 settlements, would it work to simply add this bit of code directly before the conditional reforms monitor?

    ;Unconditional Reforms
    monitor_event FactionTurnEnd FactionType seleucid
    and I_CompareCounter Romanii_Reform = 2
    and I_NumberOfSettlements seleucid > 50

    set_counter Romanii_Reform 3
    set_counter AugustanReformsAdvisor 1

    terminate_monitor

    end_monitor

    I have of course made sure I have Marian reforms before this happens - by lowering the amount of settlements required there as well.
    Te audire non possum; musa sapiente fixa est in aure!

  3. #93
    Member Member Darth Stalin's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Main station of "Friendship" pipeline
    Posts
    241

    Default Re: Setting reforms to your preference

    It should work - I did something like that in my modification for EB 1.0.
    DARTH STALIN - Lord Generalissimus of the Union of the Socialist Sith Republic

  4. #94
    Member Member Gothic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Posts
    35

    Default Re: Setting reforms to your preference

    Quote Originally Posted by Darth Stalin
    It should work - I did something like that in my modification for EB 1.0.
    Many thanks! :)
    Te audire non possum; musa sapiente fixa est in aure!

  5. #95
    Muckomania or the Muckster Member mucky305's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Located at the Bottom of a Lake, Right next to that Chick with the Sword
    Posts
    124

    Default Re: Setting reforms to your preference

    I've been trying to include an Unconditional Reform in the Polybia section with no luck. It either will not work or the shoe me how button is blocked out. I had a the reforms linked expressly to provines conquered in previous EB builds but the addition of the new scripting is tripping me up, especially the "advisor" section (PolybianReformsAdvisor, MarianReformsAdvisor, etc.). This is the last part of modding that I have before I start a true campaign. Basically, what I would like to know is what I can delete and/or change in the script and have the reforms still work. Any help would be apprceciated. Thanks!

    @Red
    Recruitment of units in any particular reform period is linked to the EDB file. Each reform has it's own entries for each MIC level. Just some info if you want to change something. Good Luck.
    Last edited by mucky305; 06-09-2008 at 16:35.


    - Drink the Kool-Aid
    'Anonymous'

  6. #96
    Whatever Member konny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Germania Inferior
    Posts
    1,787

    Default AW: Re: Setting reforms to your preference

    Quote Originally Posted by mucky305 View Post
    I've been trying to include an Unconditional Reform in the Polybia section with no luck. It either will not work or the shoe me how button is blocked out.
    What is "show me" needed for, it is just an advice triggered for export_advice.txt?

    Disclaimer: my posts are to be considered my private opinion and not offical statements by the EB Team

  7. #97
    Muckomania or the Muckster Member mucky305's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Located at the Bottom of a Lake, Right next to that Chick with the Sword
    Posts
    124

    Default Re: Setting reforms to your preference

    @konny
    I thought that you need to click the "show me how" button in order to activate the background script. Some of the changes I've made block out this button.


    - Drink the Kool-Aid
    'Anonymous'

  8. #98
    Whatever Member konny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Germania Inferior
    Posts
    1,787

    Default AW: Re: Setting reforms to your preference

    Quote Originally Posted by mucky305 View Post
    @konny
    I thought that you need to click the "show me how" button in order to activate the background script. Some of the changes I've made block out this button.
    Do you mean the advisor on game/reload start? I thought you were talking on the one that pops up when you hit the reforms. What changes did you do?

    Disclaimer: my posts are to be considered my private opinion and not offical statements by the EB Team

  9. #99
    Muckomania or the Muckster Member mucky305's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Located at the Bottom of a Lake, Right next to that Chick with the Sword
    Posts
    124

    Default Re: Setting reforms to your preference

    @Konny
    Yes, the advisor on game reload/start. Basically, the changes that I made are an inclusion of an unconditional reform in the Polybian section. It looks something like this

    ;Unconditional Reforms
    monitor_event FactionTurnEnd FactionType seleucid
    if LocalFaction Seleucid <--- paraphrase
    and I_NumberOfSettlements seleucid > 49

    set_counter Romanii_Reform 1
    set_counter PolybianReformsAdvisor 1

    terminate_monitor

    end_monitor

    I am trying to put similar reforms in place for Marian and Imperial triggers but I have a feeling that the problem is in the Polybian section as the other two seem relatively self explanatory.


    - Drink the Kool-Aid
    'Anonymous'

  10. #100
    Whatever Member konny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Germania Inferior
    Posts
    1,787

    Default AW: Setting reforms to your preference

    The code looks ok to me and should not affect the advisor on game start. Did you change anything else?

    Disclaimer: my posts are to be considered my private opinion and not offical statements by the EB Team

  11. #101
    Muckomania or the Muckster Member mucky305's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Located at the Bottom of a Lake, Right next to that Chick with the Sword
    Posts
    124

    Default Re: Setting reforms to your preference

    I did elimnate the "end_if" part of the player reform and although it isn't shown, I kept the AI reforms so the "player" reform actually looks like this:

    ;Unconditional Player Reforms
    monitor_event FactionTurnEnd FactionType seleucid
    if LocalFaction Seleucid <--- paraphrase
    and I_NumberOfSettlements seleucid > 49

    set_counter Romanii_Reform 1
    set_counter PolybianReformsAdvisor 1

    terminate_monitor

    end_monitor

    Should I just delete the "player" "AI" sections as this is how my mods were in previous builds and the reforms worked fine. What is the effect of the end_if and Polybian Reforms Advisor. Thanks for the help.


    - Drink the Kool-Aid
    'Anonymous'

  12. #102
    EBII Hod Carrier Member QuintusSertorius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    23,141

    Default Re: Setting reforms to your preference

    Just to check, if when I reach 110BC in my campaign I change the unconditional trigger to as many provinces as I hold at that time, will it automatically cause the Marian reform when I next activate the script?
    It began on seven hills - an EB 1.1 Romani AAR with historical house-rules (now ceased)
    Heirs to Lysimachos - an EB 1.1 Epeiros-as-Pergamon AAR with semi-historical houserules (now ceased)
    Philetairos' Gift - a second EB 1.1 Epeiros-as-Pergamon AAR


  13. #103
    Whatever Member konny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Germania Inferior
    Posts
    1,787

    Default AW: Setting reforms to your preference

    Yes. (should)

    Disclaimer: my posts are to be considered my private opinion and not offical statements by the EB Team

  14. #104
    EB Concept Artist Member fenix3279's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    USA, Tennessee 420-4-life
    Posts
    273

    Default Re: Setting reforms to your preference

    This also works for the AI, right? I'm playing as Arverni and I kind of want the Romans to put up a better fight as Polybian maniples. Do I just set the reforms to unconditional so that the computer can get them?
    My balloon collection





    That which does not kill me makes me stronger ~ Friedrich Nietzsche

    When you smoke the herb, it reveals to yourself ~ Bob Marley

  15. #105
    Member Member Medical Toaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Rochester, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    45

    Default Re: Setting reforms to your preference

    The roman reforms for the AI have different conditions than for the player. The Polybian reforms will automatically kick in at 230 B.C., the Marian reforms kick in at 20 provinces (there is a random chance of occurrence with over 20 provinces) and the Imperial reforms do not have an A.I. specific trigger. Look for Unconditional AI Reforms in the roman reforms section in the script to change these to your preference.

  16. #106
    EBII Hod Carrier Member QuintusSertorius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    23,141

    Default Re: Setting reforms to your preference

    Quote Originally Posted by Medical Toaster View Post
    The roman reforms for the AI have different conditions than for the player. The Polybian reforms will automatically kick in at 230 B.C., the Marian reforms kick in at 20 provinces (there is a random chance of occurrence with over 20 provinces) and the Imperial reforms do not have an A.I. specific trigger. Look for Unconditional AI Reforms in the roman reforms section in the script to change these to your preference.
    How do you change the AI Roman Marian trigger? I don't want them suddenly recruiting them at the end of the Second Punic War when they've got stuff in Illyria and Spain! I'd change it to 35 or 40 provinces.
    It began on seven hills - an EB 1.1 Romani AAR with historical house-rules (now ceased)
    Heirs to Lysimachos - an EB 1.1 Epeiros-as-Pergamon AAR with semi-historical houserules (now ceased)
    Philetairos' Gift - a second EB 1.1 Epeiros-as-Pergamon AAR


  17. #107
    Nobody expects the Senior Member Lemur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Wisconsin Death Trip
    Posts
    15,754

    Default Re: Setting reforms to your preference

    Well, I made my first, tentative attempt at modding my EB script, and it's safe to say it was a complete failure. What does it mean when the "show me how" button is grayed out, and you can't trigger the script? Does this indicate moral depravity on my part? Has the EB script examined me and found me wanting?

    I want to muck about with the Marian reforms, natch, but my skills may be too un-leet to do the job. Mebbe somebody could post a working script mod somewhere to help dweebs like me? Or post an idiot-proof cut-n-paste guide to modding EB 1.1?

  18. #108
    EBII Hod Carrier Member QuintusSertorius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    23,141

    Default Re: Setting reforms to your preference

    If it won't "activate" you've done something wrong to the script. What were you editing it with? Not standard Windows Notepad?
    Last edited by QuintusSertorius; 06-27-2008 at 09:48.
    It began on seven hills - an EB 1.1 Romani AAR with historical house-rules (now ceased)
    Heirs to Lysimachos - an EB 1.1 Epeiros-as-Pergamon AAR with semi-historical houserules (now ceased)
    Philetairos' Gift - a second EB 1.1 Epeiros-as-Pergamon AAR


  19. #109
    Nobody expects the Senior Member Lemur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Wisconsin Death Trip
    Posts
    15,754

    Default Re: Setting reforms to your preference

    Uh, Textedit, actually. What's the text editor of choice?

  20. #110
    Muckomania or the Muckster Member mucky305's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Located at the Bottom of a Lake, Right next to that Chick with the Sword
    Posts
    124

    Default Re: Setting reforms to your preference

    I use Crimson. I know others use Notepad ++ which I've never used. Crimson works kind of like a clipboard in that you can switch between several files within the program (each file you are modding gets a "page"). The line of text the you are currently on is highlighted and a little red or green button lets you know if the file has changes that haven't been saved. The best part...Crimson is free and you get a cool little dog icon on your desktop.


    - Drink the Kool-Aid
    'Anonymous'

  21. #111

    Default Re: Setting reforms to your preference

    why wount this work?

    ; Check Conditions
    monitor_event FactionTurnEnd FactionType seleucid
    and I_CompareCounter Romanii_Reform = 0
    and I_TurnNumber > 120

    ; Unconditional Player Reforms after 210BC
    if I_TurnNumber > 104
    and I_LocalFaction seleucid
    set_counter Romanii_Reform 1
    set_counter PolybianReformsAdvisor 1
    terminate_monitor
    end_if

    i changed that and im in the year 244bc so y amnt i getting the ploybian units? i destroyed one of my bacracks and processed cq ed it and all it can get was camillian and then i ended the turn and tried agin to no avail. whats wrong?

  22. #112
    EB Concept Artist Member fenix3279's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    USA, Tennessee 420-4-life
    Posts
    273

    Default Re: Setting reforms to your preference

    Can the imperial reforms be unconditional at a certain year, or should I just stick with certain amount of settlements owned? I've tried copying/pasting the polybian unconditional code into the imperial reforms. The activate script is grayed out when I start the game.

    Since everyone else's imperial reforms seem to be activated via number of settlements owned, maybe I should stick with that. Will this work? Please let me know if I need to move anything around. Changing code is not a speciality of mine so things are bound to be incorrect.

    This is exactly how it's written in the EBBS script. Yes, I am using notepad (unfortunately).



    declare_counter Romani
    declare_counter AugustanReformatorCounter

    monitor_event SettlementTurnStart BuildingExists = gov2
    and FactionType seleucid
    and I_CompareCounter Romanii_Reform = 2

    inc_counter Romani 1

    end_monitor

    ;Unconditional Reforms
    monitor_event FactionTurnEnd FactionType seleucid
    and I_CompareCounter Romanii_Reform = 2
    and I_NumberOfSettlements seleucid > 35

    set_counter Romanii_Reform 3
    set_counter AugustanReformsAdvisor 1

    terminate_monitor

    end_monitor

    monitor_event FactionTurnEnd FactionType seleucid
    and I_CompareCounter Romani > 54
    and I_TurnNumber > 499
    and I_NumberOfSettlements seleucid > 89
    ;and BattlesFought > 399
    and I_CompareCounter Romanii_Reform = 2
    and I_CompareCounter AugustanReformatorCounter = 1

    set_counter Romanii_Reform 3
    set_counter AugustanReformsAdvisor 1

    end_monitor

    monitor_event CharacterTurnStart Trait Augustus > 1

    set_counter AugustanReformatorCounter 1

    end_monitor

    monitor_event FactionTurnEnd FactionType seleucid
    set_counter Romani 0
    end_monitor
    Last edited by fenix3279; 07-09-2008 at 18:02.
    My balloon collection





    That which does not kill me makes me stronger ~ Friedrich Nietzsche

    When you smoke the herb, it reveals to yourself ~ Bob Marley

  23. #113
    Muckomania or the Muckster Member mucky305's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Located at the Bottom of a Lake, Right next to that Chick with the Sword
    Posts
    124

    Default Re: Setting reforms to your preference

    @defiant

    Yes, the settlement section should be changed to turn numbers and just set the turns at the number of years you want (100 years = 400 turns). If you copied the Polybian reform and ported it directly to the imperial section, I'm not sure your change will work. I have the same problem you do (inexperience) but I just mess with the stuff until I figure out the mechanics and then presto, I'm modding things correctly. Here's what the stuff means and what the game is checking for:

    compare counter and set counter do exactly that, compare what reform you currently have to the new reform and then set the counter at the new reform. You have two compare counters, one prior to the unconditional and one inside it. Not sure if this will break script but from what I've seen, the script is "sensitive", hence the number of bugs and CTD's associated with it. The best thing (without being able to look at my own script file) to do would be to take the existing (original) imperial trigger and just do as I have suggested above, set the conditions to turns. I apologize that I can't post an example, but if you look at the other triggers, it should be easy enough to reverse engineer the change. Good luck!


    - Drink the Kool-Aid
    'Anonymous'

  24. #114
    EB Concept Artist Member fenix3279's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    USA, Tennessee 420-4-life
    Posts
    273

    Default Re: Setting reforms to your preference

    @Mucky
    Many thanks for the help. I've made good progress with my alterations. Every hour that goes by, I learn a little more. My modding skills will be up to snuff in no time
    Anyway, I'm almost done. I'll let you know how it turns out.

    Anyway, here it is. Bolded means changed.

    declare_counter Romani
    declare_counter AugustanReformatorCounter

    monitor_event SettlementTurnStart BuildingExists = gov2
    and FactionType seleucid
    and I_CompareCounter Romanii_Reform = 2

    inc_counter Romani 1

    end_monitor

    monitor_event FactionTurnEnd FactionType seleucid
    and I_CompareCounter Romani > 54
    and I_TurnNumber > 256
    and I_NumberOfSettlements seleucid > 35
    ;and BattlesFought > 399
    and I_CompareCounter Romanii_Reform = 2
    and I_CompareCounter AugustanReformatorCounter = 1

    set_counter Romanii_Reform 3
    set_counter AugustanReformsAdvisor 1

    end_monitor

    monitor_event CharacterTurnStart Trait Augustus > 1

    set_counter AugustanReformatorCounter 1

    end_monitor

    monitor_event FactionTurnEnd FactionType seleucid
    set_counter Romani 0
    end_monitor


    Instead of putting in an unconditional reform, I figured I would make the conditional requirements really easy to get. Serves the same purpose AFAIK. I figured it will work since I only changed a few numbers that were already there. Although I still have need a character with the Augustus trait in order to get the reforms. Is there a way to cancel that out? I know about the ';' but I am not sure where to put them. Also, can anyone please explain to me what purpose this line of code serves? ( and I_CompareCounter Romani > 54 ) I changed the numbers for settlements owned and TurnNumber.......but I wasn't sure what to do with this one. I have NO idea what the 54 means. I've seen the code several times before but the number usually differs. Do I need to change it as well?
    Last edited by fenix3279; 07-10-2008 at 08:50.
    My balloon collection





    That which does not kill me makes me stronger ~ Friedrich Nietzsche

    When you smoke the herb, it reveals to yourself ~ Bob Marley

  25. #115

    Default Re: Setting reforms to your preference

    um can some 1 help me?

  26. #116
    EB Concept Artist Member fenix3279's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    USA, Tennessee 420-4-life
    Posts
    273

    Default Re: Setting reforms to your preference

    @mp0925
    It looks like it should have worked. I assume you haven't changed anything else in the EBBS script? The script is very sensitive to errors and missing codes. You've been activating the script, haven't you?
    Last edited by fenix3279; 07-10-2008 at 17:47.
    My balloon collection





    That which does not kill me makes me stronger ~ Friedrich Nietzsche

    When you smoke the herb, it reveals to yourself ~ Bob Marley

  27. #117
    Muckomania or the Muckster Member mucky305's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Located at the Bottom of a Lake, Right next to that Chick with the Sword
    Posts
    124

    Default Re: Setting reforms to your preference

    @defiant Your script should work. The compare Romani 54 part is unknown to me, but I do know that if deleted, it won't break the reform. The augustus part is easy, just give_trait "Firstname Romanvs" PlainRomanVirtue 3 VOILA, your Faction Leader becomes the fat Kraut kid from Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.

    @MP The problem is the Turn Number > 120 part in the top. Delete that and you should be good.


    - Drink the Kool-Aid
    'Anonymous'

  28. #118
    EB Concept Artist Member fenix3279's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    USA, Tennessee 420-4-life
    Posts
    273

    Default Re: Setting reforms to your preference

    @Mucky
    So, should I just delete that particular line of code or would it be safer just to leave it as it is?
    I'm trying to go through my final phase of double-checking the code so I know if it even works or not. It'd be a shame to upload it in the scripts, play the game for several weeks, reach the reforms and find out the darn thing doesn't even work. Or worse..... find out it caused a game ending CTD. *shudder*
    My balloon collection





    That which does not kill me makes me stronger ~ Friedrich Nietzsche

    When you smoke the herb, it reveals to yourself ~ Bob Marley

  29. #119
    Muckomania or the Muckster Member mucky305's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Located at the Bottom of a Lake, Right next to that Chick with the Sword
    Posts
    124

    Default Re: Setting reforms to your preference

    It will not break the script. The breakers are those compare counter commands, end/terminate monitor, etc. and ensuring your syntax is correct. Make sure that the conditons exceed those you set for the other two reforms as that will break the script. BTW add "legion: Italica" minus quotes under the Latium2 entry in your descr_region.txt file for a First Cohort surprise.
    Last edited by mucky305; 07-10-2008 at 20:52.


    - Drink the Kool-Aid
    'Anonymous'

  30. #120
    EB Concept Artist Member fenix3279's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    USA, Tennessee 420-4-life
    Posts
    273

    Default Re: Setting reforms to your preference

    Oooh, I'm intrigued. A "surprise" you say?

    Now this isn't gonna make me sh*t my pants or something, is it?

    lol, no I'm kidding. Do you mean world/maps/base/DESCR_REGIONS text document? What's gonna happen? Will it give each unit a legion number or something?
    You can tell me. I can keep a secret (sorta).
    Last edited by fenix3279; 07-11-2008 at 01:00.
    My balloon collection





    That which does not kill me makes me stronger ~ Friedrich Nietzsche

    When you smoke the herb, it reveals to yourself ~ Bob Marley

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO