Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: The Sands Of Africa

Default The Sands Of Africa

Since we know that the Carthaginians were eliminated by the Romans there is no real history to report after the ending of the third Punic War. This gives me a little more freedom to do what I want with this nation. One theme will rule this AAR and that is Commerce. Motivated by trade Carthage became an Empire of Merchant might not military supremacy. Motivations for Expansion were not to necessarily defeat another empire but rather to secure their continued trade. The overall theme will be that of commercial dominance. Of course this will lead to conflict which is why the Carthiginian military will have to be a professional and competent machine. Ports will be a great priority as maritime supremacy is paramount to controlling a merchant empire. Having finished several books on the history of Carthage, or the Phoenician colony, and having read a biography of Hannibal I feel I have enough background knowledge to get started. I played with the faction for about 25 game years and have a feel for the mechanics. I have a rudimentary foundation of how the Carthaginians waged war and their tactics. Combining Phalanx with more mobile troops and Cavalry gave them a sort of Hybrid between Roman Maniples and Hellenistic phalanx.

The format of the AAR will not be like a history book like that last AAR but rather from the perspectives of the Commanders themselves. Sometimes they will be commanders and other times they will be governors. It will be in Journal format that I may add third person perspective to when needed to show additional goings-on. Overall I want to give a rich and encompassing aspect to the game. As much as I enjoy the battles, there are so many other treasures to this game and I will make an effort to expand on them.

Without further delay here is an Introduction to get us up to date on the situation with Carthage and her interests: