Thread: How to change archer max angle to 45

Default How to change archer max angle to 45

Ok I am new to modding with things, first off. I know I am missing something here because in one article a guy was talking about to help with archers not firing huge arc shots onto the enemy when they are on walls, decrease their max angle to 45 in descr_projectiles.txt

Ok so my question is, how do I get to that? I did a search for it in the folder, and found nothing, so I am curious to know how to get to this.

Again, I am new to this modding thing, so step by step instructions would be great :)

Default Re: How to change archer max angle to 45

You must be talking about this thread:
    https://forums.totalwar.org/vb/showthread.php?t=83719

Go to /tools/unpacker and read ReadMe.txt carefully.

You have to mod not just arrow but arrow_fiery, bodkin_arrow, etc.

Ok I did that and unpacked the files (wow 14 GBs) and I STILL cannot find this descr_projectiles.txt file. How do I get to this? Where do I go to, something on the data folder? Like I said, I have no clue what I am doing.

By step-by-step instructions I meant like "first, go here, then go here, then do this and this, then find these folders and change angle to 45" ect. I have never modded a game IN MY LIFE

So yeah, I am like uber noob when it comes to this. I really appreciate the time and effort taken out.

Nvm, I found what I was lookin for. I was lookin in data folders, all I had to do was scroll down :P

One last question, will this cause any other problems or conflicts with the way the game works? Since I really don't understand WHY this works, only that I am trusting it does, I am curious to know if I will face other unforseen things.

It shouldn't cause any unforseen problems, no, but I'll explain a bit about what's going on there, and let you decide for yourself.