Thread: The Great Austrian Mystery

Default The Great Austrian Mystery

As a complete novice to modding until 3 weeks ago I have been quite pleased with my efforts in giving NTW 1 figures the proper colour uniforms and making small changes. ( Pleased by my standards that is!! ). So far I have managed to make 50 or 60 a little more accurate and attractive. Then came the great Austrian Grenz ( Light Infantry ) affair. I am using the standard procedure, bifreader, convert to bmp, Paint Shop Pro then back into the 12 frames of the BIF file. No problems at all . Then this -

As you can see the rear view appears to have the unfortunate Grenzers leaning on a gravestone!! Absolutely no sign of this in the BIF animation or on Paint Shop BMP's and it is only the rear view that it appears on. It looks like part of an object of some sort. Personally I think the Grenzers are protesting at their rather garish Blue and Orangey brown uniforms ( but accurate ).

I'm hoping the old modding hands out there will be able to tell me what causes it and how to get rid of it and many thanks in advance for any advice.

Falkonfive

Second-hand chariot salesman Senior Member macsen rufus's Avatar

Default Re: The Great Austrian Mystery

That is the famous "faction shield" bug at work!

You will be using one of the "dangerous" animation folders for this - there are six which in the original game are associated with faction shields, effectively a faction-specific shield design for each model (eg various sergeants, men at arms, knights etc). The only solution is to use different animation folders or keep your number of factions below 20. I can't remember the full list off the top of my head, but it includes Peasant, MSHelm .... erm and four others . If you haven't used them already you could just copy these folders across to Custom0 --> Custom5 and the problem will disappear.
    ANCIENT: TW

A mod for Medieval:TW (with VI)

Discussion forum thread

Download A Game of Thrones Mod v1.4