Thread: The Gothic series

Default The Gothic series

Are they worth an RPG lover's time?
    Which game should a complete newbie to the series start with?
    Frogbeastegg's Guide to Total War: Shogun II. Please note that the guide is not up-to-date for the latest patch.

Default Sv: The Gothic series

I liked Gothic II.
    Gothic 1 is very buggy and you are lucky if you can run it from 10 minutes without it crashing.
    Gothic III has nice graphics and better combat but suffers from alot of bugs.
    Gothic II is overall the most stable of the lot but not by much.

Beauty hunter Senior Member Raz's Avatar

Default Re: The Gothic series

I unfortunatley never played Gothic I... I had played G2 at a friends house a while ago, which brought me to Gothic III - the only one I've owned. It has some nice little features that were so lacking in G2, nice graphics and a better combat system. However it is quite unstable and, as TB has said, it suffers from many, many bugs.
    Quote Originally Posted by drone
    I imagine an open-source project to recreate [Medieval: Total War] would be faced with an army of high-valour lawyers.

Live your life out on Earth; I'm going to join the Sun.

Wow, I liked 1 and 2 best and I think the combat system in 3 is worst, it was reduced to mere button-smashing that can go on for hours because even wolves can block and retreat etc.
    One and two have some bugs, yes but overall I found them a great gaming experience and I played through both of them numerous times, joining different parties etc. If you get the addin for two that makes it quite a lot harder(bit more grinding to become strong enough) but it also adds a whole new island location and a lot of fun, new quests, new characters etc. One thing I also liked a lot was that you get to see and talk to/deal with a lot of old "friends" from Gothic 1 so it pays off to have played that first. I don't remember either crashing a whole lot, at least not with all patches applied.