Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Authencity of "Rome" tv show?

EB on ALX player Member ziegenpeter's Avatar

Default Authencity of "Rome" tv show?

Hi folks!
    I'm not an expert of roman history, but right now I'm watching the 2nd season of "Rome" and there a some questions I have about this show. Right now I wont remember all, so there are more to come.
    1. Why is Cato the only one not weaaring the typical senator toga?
    2. Was it at these days inapropriate for a women of the upper class to participate an an orgy? (Octavia S2e05)
    3. What kind of weapon is that?

thx so far

"A wise man once said: Never buy a game full price!"
    - Another wise man

iudex thervingiorum Member athanaric's Avatar

Default Re: Authencity of "Rome" tv show?

From what I can see, it's definitely a type of halberd.

Apart from some inaccuracies (and too much sex), the series is good IMO, and far more historically correct than any other commercial stuff about the Roman world I've seen so far.

Swêboz guide for EB 1.2
    Tips and Tricks for New Players
    from Hannibal Khan the Great, Brennus, Tellos Athenaios, and Winsington III.

The Rhetorician Member Skullheadhq's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by ziegenpeter View Post
    Hi folks!
    2. Was it at these days inapropriate for a women of the upper class to participate an an orgy? (Octavia S2e05)
    OF course it was, and it was inappropriate for women of lower classes as well
    "When the candles are out all women are fair."
    -Plutarch, Coniugia Praecepta 46

Ming the Merciless is my idol Senior Member Watchman's Avatar

As for #3, those are some very Medieval-looking halberds right there...