Results 1 to 22 of 22

Thread: Problems with install? - Steam download even with you having DVD?!? - read up

  1. #1
    Rolluplover Member Kocmoc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,563

    Default Problems with install? - Steam download even with you having DVD?!? - read up

    Im sure tons of people will have the same problem.

    You have the demo of your steamaccount, bought DVD and now you try to install it, but STEAM starts a download.

    Now this problem is caused by the demo you have on your account and the Autostart function of your Computer.
    Just go manually on your DVD-drive and start the install from there manually.

    Thats it! After install you go online on steam and get the patch.

    Log in to Steam and click on Library.
    Right-click on the game, select Delete local content, and confirm.
    Insert the first disc into your computer.
    Close Steam (Steam > Exit).
    Press Windows Key + R to open Run
    In the Run window type:

    "C:\Program Files\Steam\Steam.exe" -install E:

    Replace E: with the CD/DVD drive you are installing from if is not correct.
    Replace C:\Program Files\Steam if your Steam installation is not in the default location.
    Press OK. Steam will launch and ask you to sign in if you do not have your password saved. Your installation should continue from the disc.
    I did copy this from the totalwar.com forum. It might help as well...


    Note: Some people reported, that it didnt work the first time! If the download start again, do the same procedure another time. Right click game, delete files from HDD and so on....
    Koc
    Last edited by Kocmoc; 03-17-2011 at 12:59.

  2. #2
    Ancient Reluctant Conscript Senior Member A Nerd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    SE Massachusetts
    Posts
    3,298

    Default Re: Problems with install? - Steam download even with you having DVD?!? - read up

    Would deleting the demo before you install from a DVD help with this problem? Or is it still best to install directly from the DVD drive?
    Silence is beautiful

  3. #3
    Rolluplover Member Kocmoc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,563

    Default Re: Problems with install? - Steam download even with you having DVD?!? - read up

    Quote Originally Posted by A Nerd View Post
    Would deleting the demo before you install from a DVD help with this problem? Or is it still best to install directly from the DVD drive?
    Well, you can rightclick the demo in steam and deinstall it or even deleting it. This alone wont do it, you have to delete this folder as well:

    deleted that folder C:\Users\***Your name***\AppData\Roaming\The Creative Assembly\Shogun2 to avoid issues.

  4. #4
    Ancient Reluctant Conscript Senior Member A Nerd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    SE Massachusetts
    Posts
    3,298

    Default Re: Problems with install? - Steam download even with you having DVD?!? - read up

    Alright, thanks for the info! :)
    Silence is beautiful

  5. #5
    Member Member IRONxMortlock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Shizuoka, Japan
    Posts
    243

    Default Re: Problems with install? - Steam download even with you having DVD?!? - read up

    Quote Originally Posted by Kocmoc View Post
    Im sure tons of people will have the same problem.

    You have the demo of your steamaccount, bought DVD and now you try to install it, but STEAM starts a download.

    Now this problem is caused by the demo you have on your account and the Autostart function of your Computer.
    Just go manually on your DVD-drive and start the install from there manually.

    Thats it! After install you go online on steam and get the patch.


    Koc
    So the procedure is:

    1. Exit Steam
    2. Insert Disc
    3. Cancel autostart
    4. Explore DVD
    5. Double-click setup
    6. Follow install instructions
    7. Start Steam and wait for patch download
    8. Play



    ??
    and New Zealand.

  6. #6
    Rolluplover Member Kocmoc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,563

    Default Re: Problems with install? - Steam download even with you having DVD?!? - read up

    Quote Originally Posted by IRONxMortlock View Post
    So the procedure is:

    1. Exit Steam
    2. Insert Disc
    3. Cancel autostart
    4. Explore DVD
    5. Double-click setup
    6. Follow install instructions
    7. Start Steam and wait for patch download
    8. Play



    ??
    Yes. Thats the way or you uninstall the Demo and also delete the files related into the "Use/folder".

  7. #7
    Member Member IRONxMortlock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Shizuoka, Japan
    Posts
    243

    Default Re: Problems with install? - Steam download even with you having DVD?!? - read up

    Thanks. I'll be sure to do that when the game arrives.
    and New Zealand.

  8. #8
    Member Member Liberator's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Mogontiacum, Germania Superior
    Posts
    150

    Default Re: Problems with install? - Steam download even with you having DVD?!? - read up

    It starts installing from the DVD here, but suddenly the message

    "Steam Error - The Steam servers are currently to busy to handle your request. Please try again in a few minutes."

    After that, nothing happens... WTF, I want to install from a DVD, not over steam, right?!
    OUTRAGEOUS !!!

    Than it starts downloading in the steam games library...


    *EDIT* PROBLEM SOLVED

    CHECK OUT http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showthread.php?t=433337

    Basicly, you have to change the server where steam downloads from; my default server was located in Frankfurt, Germany, assumingly 40 km from my location.
    I now switched to Thailand, and it seems to work.
    Thailand, oh lovely Thailand
    Last edited by Liberator; 03-15-2011 at 15:40.
    Better dead than a Coward - Gurkha motto

  9. #9
    A Shadow Senior Member Kagemusha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Helsinki,Finland
    Posts
    8,935

    Default Re: Problems with install? - Steam download even with you having DVD?!? - read up

    Thanks for the heads up guys. Installing right now and things are looking ok.
    Ja Mata Tosainu Sama.

  10. #10
    Needs more flowers Moderator drone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Moral High Grounds
    Posts
    8,766

    Default Re: Problems with install? - Steam download even with you having DVD?!? - read up

    Steam - Alienating paying customers on release day since 2003.
    The .Org's MTW Reference Guide Wiki - now taking comments, corrections, suggestions, and submissions

    If I werent playing games Id be killing small animals at a higher rate than I am now - SFTS
    Si je n'étais pas jouer à des jeux que je serais mort de petits animaux à un taux plus élevé que je suis maintenant - Louis VI The Fat

    "Why do you hate the extremely limited Spartan version of freedom?" - Lemur

  11. #11
    Senior Member Senior Member Barkhorn1x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Miami, FL, USA
    Posts
    1,055

    Default Re: Problems with install? - Steam download even with you having DVD?!? - read up

    Quote Originally Posted by drone View Post
    Steam - Alienating paying customers on release day since 2003.
    True dat!
    "Après moi le déluge"

  12. #12
    Member Member Matty's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    185

    Default Re: Problems with install? - Steam download even with you having DVD?!? - read up

    I'm Steaming - after an agony getting through the payment system and downloading the game, it does not launch. Steam support are as useless as a chocolate fireguard and suggest possible conflicts with other software. I'm no computer specialist, I just want to play a game I paid good money for. Anyone have any ideas/suggestions as to what could be the cause? The game has downloaded and I've checked the files. The shortcut is on the desktop but whatever way I try and load it, I just get the small 'preparing to launch Total War: Shogun 2' and then nada......

  13. #13
    Member Member Royce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    High Desert
    Posts
    46

    Default Re: Problems with install? - Steam download even with you having DVD?!? - read up

    This Total War game was crap right from the start. Installing was a nightmare...why the hell do we purchase this crap it just incourges them to produce more crap.

  14. #14
    Member Member Royce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    High Desert
    Posts
    46

    Default Re: Problems with install? - Steam download even with you having DVD?!? - read up

    Lets face it it's not you it's the crapy game and the Steam thing. Companies can't seem to just produce a straight forward game that installs on the customer's computer. If I want to play online then that should be a seperate process. You won't want to play anyway unless you enjoy loosing because it's been set up as no win situation.. I've tried and it just doesn't work..you just run out of money because there is no infrastructure and when everyone turns on you your economy collapses and that's the end of the story. Hell if I wanted to get slaughtered I'd play on super difficult. Easy game setting is just a joke. Sorry. Good luck.
    Last edited by Gregoshi; 03-25-2011 at 01:57. Reason: Language unbecoming an Orgah

  15. #15
    Moderator Moderator Gregoshi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    12,708

    Default Re: Problems with install? - Steam download even with you having DVD?!? - read up

    Quote Originally Posted by Royce View Post
    This Total War game was crap right from the start. Installing was a nightmare...why the hell do we purchase this crap it just incourges them to produce more crap.
    I'll take some more of that crap please.

    Sorry you had such a rough go of installing and playing the game Royce. Most people here seem to be enjoying the game - even getting beaten. I'm sure the win-lose ratio will improve as we learn and share how to overcome the game's many obstacles.
    This space intentionally left blank

  16. #16
    Provost Moderator Nelson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    2,752

    Default Re: Problems with install? - Steam download even with you having DVD?!? - read up

    Quote Originally Posted by Gregoshi View Post
    I'll take some more of that crap please.

    Sorry you had such a rough go of installing and playing the game Royce. Most people here seem to be enjoying the game - even getting beaten. I'm sure the win-lose ratio will improve as we learn and share how to overcome the game's many obstacles.
    What Gregoshi-san said.

    I have the limited edition DVDs. I put them into the DVD reader where autostart took over. I then just followed the instructions. STEAM was not active when I began. (I already had a STEAM account) At some point I had to enter the codes for the game and the limited edition content. That was it. STEAM announced me to be an official player with all of the perks and honors. The game has functioned ever since.

    I realize that some folks have had issues and that few people with issues like hearing from those of us who had smooth sailing. However, it still needs to said in a forum like this lest a visitor get the impression that all problems are inevitable. It would seem they are not.

    Royce, what year was it when your economy collapsed?
    Time flies like the wind. Fruit flies like bananas.

  17. #17
    Member Member shastaMeng's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Problems with install? - Steam download even with you having DVD?!? - read up

    alright, so i bought the game about 2 days ago now.

    i put the disc in and begin the installation process. i log into my steam account, enter my verification code in, agree to the terms of agreement, and begin installing, it generates its list from the cache or whatever, and than a progress bar comes up saying its working on disc one. it gets about 2/3 done and than it says steam servers are busy.
    i wait a couple minutes than try again. the same error message comes up at the exact same time. ive been trying this for the past two days now.

    i tried to remove local data, but i cant through steam because the game still isnt installed. a shortcut icon appeared on my desktop, but the game isnt installed. ive tried installing through steam, and ive tried installing through the dvd, every time i get the same servers are busy error.

    im really at a loss of what to do. ive never had problems installing other games but this is just really frustrating, this game looks awesome, please any help would be appreciated, ive scoured the internet looking for possible solutions and nothings worked so far.

    when i try installing the game through the disc, it gives me two option "reinstall" or "uninstall"
    this "reinstall" prompt has me worried that perhaps there is some glitch where the game already thinks its installed? i dunno.

    please help

  18. #18
    Pincushioned Ashigaru Member Poulp''s Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    464

    Default Re: Problems with install? - Steam download even with you having DVD?!? - read up

    So you bought the game box and suddenly end up with Steam attached (pun very intended.)
    That's the 21st century welcoming you with a stab in the back.

    I found a post describing your exact problem
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showthread.php?t=433337

    I see this is your first post, so...
    Welcome to the Org.

    PM me if you need any information about the various mods available.

  19. #19
    Member Member shastaMeng's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Problems with install? - Steam download even with you having DVD?!? - read up

    from the thread you posted
    When you insert the first disc you will be shown a screen that given you the option of installing the game. If you get an option to Reinstall or Uninstall it's likely that you had a failed install.
    i believe this is the situation im in.
    unfortunately his advice for this problem is

    If you've had a failed install select the 'Uninstall' option and then start the process again. If you select the 'Reinstall' option you will likely start to download the whole game again - look at how much is being downloaded.


    When you start the install process make sure Steam is not started already. For me this just makes it simpler as you don't want Steam to start downloading the whole game - I think this will only happen if you try andplay the game though.
    i dont even have the option of downloading the game, and to be honest i would be very happy with the ability to slowly download it off of steam. i just want to play this game whether it be through disc installation or download from steam.

    if i close steam and try to install again i simply get the same error messages over and over again.

    also another issue to mention. when i attempt to uninstall the game (even though i havent installed it yet) i hear windows make two beeping noises. i think this may be part of the issue. perhaps i had a failed install the first time, and i am unable to clear my system of this failed install to try it again. if anyone would know how i could remove the failed install from my PC so i could try to install it again fresh, maybe this would help. i dunno

    anyone have any ideas? thanks for the thread though poulp, ill try poking around that forum as well

    anymore help would be appreciated

    edit:
    to be honest im tempted to just buy the game off of steam and download it, but i would be doubly pissed if i bought the $50.00 disc and was unable to play, and than bought the down loadable version on steam and was still unable to play... that would be a wasted $90.00.
    Last edited by shastaMeng; 08-01-2011 at 16:17.

  20. #20
    Member Member shastaMeng's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Problems with install? - Steam download even with you having DVD?!? - read up

    god damn, why didnt i just buy this game off steam in the first place

  21. #21
    Pincushioned Ashigaru Member Poulp''s Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    464

    Default Re: Problems with install? - Steam download even with you having DVD?!? - read up

    You've got a working steam activation key, no need to buy it twice I think.
    You don't feed a dog twice a day, don't you ?

    Now, I'll first advise you to run Ccleaner to get rid of any temporary files
    If you do not have the program, google Ccleaner Sourceforge, it should be in the first three results.
    It's free and effective, and it also can get you rid of your passwords, so you better have them written down somewhere safe.

    If you have Avast, disable it.

    Retry to install.

    If all else fail, look into here; steam forum support for shogun 2
    http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...lay.php?f=1082


    Be mindful that there's a whole mess going on with people not able to play, or able to install the game going on as we speak.
    My bet that you're among them.
    Since I haven't launch the game for two, three days, who knows, maybe I'll join the gang.

  22. #22
    Member Member shastaMeng's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Problems with install? - Steam download even with you having DVD?!? - read up

    ah well thanks for the help poulp but no luck.

    ccleaner didnt change anything. i ran ccleaner, but when i put the disc in i had the same problems. it still asked me to "reinstall" the game when i havent installed it yet.

    i dont know what else i can do on my part, im hoping its a problem with CA and steam, and it will hopefully be fixed soon. it seems like a lot of people are having similar problems as me right about now.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •