Thread: France

Infinite Jest Member easytarget's Avatar

Question France

When playing as France is there any way you can maintain an alliance with England or is it a waste of time? Or I should say simply a temporary solution at the outset of the campaign used to prep for invading the island?

I want to know if I have a diplomatic option of ally with them and HRE and focus south on Spain and Portugal or whether I do in fact have to remove England (and Scotland for that matter) from the picture because no matter what one does they are going to break treaties and attack you regardless.

Default Re: France

Quote Originally Posted by easytarget View Post
    When playing as France is there any way you can maintain an alliance with England or is it a waste of time? Or I should say simply a temporary solution at the outset of the campaign used to prep for invading the island?

I want to know if I have a diplomatic option of ally with them and HRE and focus south on Spain and Portugal or whether I do in fact have to remove England (and Scotland for that matter) from the picture because no matter what one does they are going to break treaties and attack you regardless.
    Yes, you have that option. Try it and see.

Druzhina
    Illustrations of Costume & Soldiers

In my HRE campaign, France left me alone for a long time. It was only in the latter stages of the campaign that they became aggressive towards me. I'd imagine it might be possible for the reverse to be true as well.
    This space intentionally left blank

Well, I decided there was no way England was going to leave me alone given they are stuck in Caen at the beginning of the campaign, so I didn't really give much thought to truly forming an alliance with them. I've not yet gone to war with them either.