Thread: Beaten by horses

Default Beaten by horses

Hello and thanks for reading this!

So I am still kind of new to this whole total war thing, but I am loving playing Rome Total War 2. I find myself playing as the Suebi and Arverni first off, I wanted to try the barbarians before anything else just because I am reading a lot of people playing as Sparta or the Greek states and wanted to be different, haha.

I suppose my main concern here is I am finding myself having a tough time with horse archers, what are good ways to fight back against the armies that are just 3-4 infantry and the rest light horse archers? The barbarians seem to have mainly light armored infantry that are getting chewed up by archers that they cannot reach.

Any tips and tricks are appreciated!

Thanks!

Voluntary Suspension Voluntary Suspension Philippus Flavius Homovallumus's Avatar

Default Re: Beaten by horses

The traditional solution is massed foot archery protected by spearmen, another solution is to hire mercenary cavalry and horse archers and try to beat them at their own game, however that requires getting behind the enemy, which in turn requires a certain sort of battlefield where you can do that without being spotted.
    Last edited by Philippus Flavius Homovallumus; 03-12-2015 at 03:33.
    "If it wears trousers generally I don't pay attention."

[IMG]https://img197.imageshack.us/img197/4917/logoromans23pd.jpg[/IMG]

I try to keep the horse archers moving I feel like if they are moving than they cant be shooting them arrows as well as if they were sitting still. Just seems like nothing is fast enough to catch them. I have been having better success with foot archers and slingers my last attempt a little bit ago. The extra range of the slingers I am finding makes the horses have to get within a good bit of their range before they can attack my front lines. I feel like I need to expand on that line a bit more in game and see how it goes.