Thread: Computer Problem Out of Video Memory

Default Computer Problem Out of Video Memory

Howdy yall. I'm new to the Org. I spend a lot of time at EZBoard. My problem: I can't fight battles. I get the message "Hard sprites failed to load. DDER_OUTOF VIDEOMEMORY (8876017C)" I also get a strange trapezoidal shaped image that covers about half the campaign map. What's going on? Here are my specs:

Windows XP Home Edition 2002 version Service Pack 2
    2.2 GHz Intel Celeron
    40 GB Ultra DMA, 28.56GB free
    128 MB DDR
    48 Max Read CDROM
    3D Intel Extreme Graphics AGP, Intel 82845G Graphics Controller, High Color, 1024x768 screen area, 75Hz refresh rate.

I have no problems with the campaign map.

I appreciate any help.

The hair proves it... Senior Member EatYerGreens's Avatar

Default Re: Computer Problem Out of Video Memory

Quick anwer: -
    128Mb RAM is listed on the back of the CD case under 'Minimum Specifications'. In other words, set the lowest screen resolution the game will support and turn off all the SFX/Fauna bells and whistles.

Choose the smallest unit size and try to get a custom battle started, with 16 units on both sides. If that works okay, increase unit size and repeat the process until it just starts to struggle a bit and that should be your optimal level for campaign mode.
    --------------------------
    Remedial measures:-

Look up the specifications for your Vid Card and find out how much on-board memory it has. Let us know as it may help diagnose what's wrong.

The problem is that AGP cards are designed to 'borrow' motherboard memory at times when the demands of what is being displayed are particularly high. Chances are you don't have enough spare mobo RAM to cope with whatever shortfall the gfx card is suffering from.