Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: How do you open DDS files with GIMP?

  1. #1
    Alienated Senior Member Member Red Harvest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Searching for the ORG's lost honor
    Posts
    4,657

    Default How do you open DDS files with GIMP?

    Ok, I need to look at some texture files...now I remember why I never bothered with any of this skinning type stuff before: those DDS files won't open. How in blazes do you open them with GIMP? Is there something I need to download to make them work? When I do a search on this I don't really get any clear indication of what is missing or how to remedy this.
    Rome Total War, it's not a game, it's a do-it-yourself project.

  2. #2
    Ja mata, TosaInu Senior Member edyzmedieval's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Fortress of the Mountains
    Posts
    9,453

    Default Re: How do you open DDS files with GIMP?

    You need a plugin I think.

    I use Adobe Photoshop though....
    Ja mata, TosaInu. You will forever be remembered.

    Proud

    Been to:

    RANDOM WANDER- check out my blog!

    Fall of Constantinople - CLICK!!! - Historical novel about the fall of Byzantium!

  3. #3
    Just driving-by Senior Member Epistolary Richard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    4,376

    Default Re: How do you open DDS files with GIMP?

    There's a plug-in downloadable on the NVidia website - I know it works for Photoshop and PSP - I can't say for any other programmes though.

  4. #4
    Alienated Senior Member Member Red Harvest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Searching for the ORG's lost honor
    Posts
    4,657

    Default Re: How do you open DDS files with GIMP?

    Hunted around for a plug in, found one for Gimp, but it doesn't work (at least not if you follow their instructions.) Gimp appears to be a rather apt name for the program at the moment...
    Rome Total War, it's not a game, it's a do-it-yourself project.

  5. #5
    Alienated Senior Member Member Red Harvest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Searching for the ORG's lost honor
    Posts
    4,657

    Default Re: How do you open DDS files with GIMP?

    Tried some of NVidia's utilities...I can decompress the tga using command line readdxt.exe. Had to guess to figure out the syntax as they forgot to document that one in the pdf.

    It seems to output "test.tga" in it root directory even when I tried to sub in my own name. Apparently wouldn't overwrite either... very odd little executable.

    The resulting TGA has a distinctly blue cast when I load it in GIMP (all textures are in woad???) Can't tell if it is GIMP's fault, or what. None of these programs are impressing the heck out of me at the moment. Looks like a bunch of scattered, muddled thinking. Graphics program developers seem to have inscrutable ways of doing things.

    I think I'm swimming against the current on this one.
    Rome Total War, it's not a game, it's a do-it-yourself project.

  6. #6
    Member Member DimeBagHo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    307

    Default Re: How do you open DDS files with GIMP?

    You can use a small utility called DTXbmp. Look here: http://fly.to/mwgfx/

  7. #7
    Alienated Senior Member Member Red Harvest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Searching for the ORG's lost honor
    Posts
    4,657

    Default Re: How do you open DDS files with GIMP?

    Quote Originally Posted by DimeBagHo
    You can use a small utility called DTXbmp. Look here: http://fly.to/mwgfx/
    Hey thanks! That actually works. Took me awhile to get it sorted but I can at least export the TGA to GIMP now, and it is no longer in woad... Now I can actually look at the unit TGA's. Don't know if I can get anything to save if I edit, but I'll take any small victory I can get.
    Rome Total War, it's not a game, it's a do-it-yourself project.

  8. #8
    Member Member DimeBagHo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    307

    Default Re: How do you open DDS files with GIMP?

    I generally use PS to edit .DDS files, but I did use GiMP+DTXbmp for a while. I seem to remember that it did something funky to the alpha channel. If you have this problem then try exporting the alpha with DTXbmp and adding it back on after you get done editing with GiMP, or save the .tga file without using compression.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •