Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst 12345678 ... LastLast
Results 91 to 120 of 285

Thread: Blue Lotus Open Beta

  1. #91
    Grenadier Guard Member Count Flip's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    28

    Default Re: Blue Lotus Open Beta

    ive played the khans but the first ctd i encountered was attacking a demon city about 20 years into the game... i allied with them so i didnt have to attack but then they betrayed me!!.. those *******s!!

  2. #92
    Naked Game Fanatic Member Murfios's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    I live in the world of gaming
    Posts
    534

    Unhappy Re: Blue Lotus Open Beta

    Can download your mod, link does not throw me correctly. Something empty appears

  3. #93
    Member Member neumonic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    14

    Default Re: Blue Lotus Open Beta

    Quote Originally Posted by flipnation21
    ive played the khans but the first ctd i encountered was attacking a demon city about 20 years into the game... i allied with them so i didnt have to attack but then they betrayed me!!.. those *******s!!
    I managed to make changes to my gameplays and when it crashes, I made a different approach. Now I'm into the 10 year of gameplay with the Akagi Clan.
    I allied with the neighbors, then I betrayed them before they can even think about it. :) I've seen some cool ninjas in action...........

  4. #94
    Grenadier Guard Member Count Flip's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    28

    Default Re: Blue Lotus Open Beta

    i think i fixed the brown lines protruding from the undead samurais.... check the bugs thread to see how to fix it..... i might play as the yomi empire now!! lol

  5. #95
    Member Member neumonic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    14

    Default Re: Blue Lotus Open Beta

    did not really notice about the brown lines, well anyway I'll look it up. thanks :) Have you played the indians yet. They have very nice infantries.

  6. #96
    Grenadier Guard Member Count Flip's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    28

    Default Re: Blue Lotus Open Beta

    you've never seen the brown things coming out of the undead samurai???? its right there in your face when you enter a battle with em... it got reall annoying cause it kept following the center of your screen.....

  7. #97
    Grandmaster of the Temple Member Martimus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    France
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: Blue Lotus Open Beta

    Oh, good, i'm not the only one seeing that then, I thought my video card was overheating :P

  8. #98
    Senior Member Senior Member hoggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Adel, Britannia
    Posts
    565

    Default Re: Blue Lotus Open Beta

    Hehe, yes sorry guys. I think it only shows on some graphics cards (not on mine) so it's hard to know when it's fixed but it's on the list of 'to do's'

  9. #99
    Member Member neumonic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    14

    Default Re: Blue Lotus Open Beta

    Quote Originally Posted by flipnation21
    you've never seen the brown things coming out of the undead samurai???? its right there in your face when you enter a battle with em... it got reall annoying cause it kept following the center of your screen.....
    Nope, seen nothing of that sort. I'm using ATI Radeon 9600 video card w/128
    :)

  10. #100
    Member Member Twizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Blue Lotus Open Beta

    guess not...i guess ill just try to install again...

  11. #101
    Back in black Member monkian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Casnewydd, Cymru
    Posts
    2,034

    Default Re: Blue Lotus Open Beta

    I can see them too- got a Radeon9 9800 pro

    Doesn't really bother me that much
    Look what these bastards have done to Wales. They've taken our coal, our water, our steel. They buy our homes and live in them for a fortnight every year. What have they given us? Absolutely nothing. We've been exploited, raped, controlled and punished by the English — and that's who you are playing this afternoon Phil Bennett's pre 1977 Rugby match speech

  12. #102
    Member Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Blue Lotus Open Beta

    I also use a ATI Radeon 9800 and see those brown lines which some of the undead units "produce".
    It's probably a bit annoying, but far better than any CTD.

  13. #103
    Member Member Morray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    54

    Default Re: Blue Lotus Open Beta

    I get them on the Demon Catapults, but when I scroll away and then back they are gone!

    I have an ATI 5800 or something rubbish like that!
    Do not think...feeeeeeeeeel, it is like a finger pointing up at the moon...DO NOT stare at the finger, or you will miss alllllll the heavenly beauty!
    Bruce Lee, Enter the Dragon

  14. #104
    Back in black Member monkian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Casnewydd, Cymru
    Posts
    2,034

    Default Re: Blue Lotus Open Beta

    When I first played it the brown lines werer stretching from a rather hard looking undead unit and followed my general around.

    Thought they had some sort of curse power on him
    Look what these bastards have done to Wales. They've taken our coal, our water, our steel. They buy our homes and live in them for a fortnight every year. What have they given us? Absolutely nothing. We've been exploited, raped, controlled and punished by the English — and that's who you are playing this afternoon Phil Bennett's pre 1977 Rugby match speech

  15. #105

    Default Re: Blue Lotus Open Beta

    The problem with the zombie samurai seems to be in the "arr06" element (the arrow in the back) of the model:


    As a quick, temporary fix, I have removed that arrow from the model. You can find the new .cas at http://www.megaupload.com/?d=4525GUM5

    Just extract it to your models_unit folder and overwrite the old .cas (I have also included it in the zip, with extension .cas.orig, just in case)

    Hope this helps this amazing mod!

  16. #106
    Naked Game Fanatic Member Murfios's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    I live in the world of gaming
    Posts
    534

    Default Re: Blue Lotus Open Beta

    I CANT download! Help

  17. #107

    Default Re: Blue Lotus Open Beta

    OK, I uploaded the same file to rapidshare: http://rapidshare.de/files/24624843/zomsam.zip.html

    (BTW, note that I have not asked hoggy nor anyother BL team member for permission to modify nor distribute BL files. I hope they don't mind, I'm doing this in good faith, just to help )

    Also, I think I have almost finished all the file changes to run Blue Lotus using "-mod" (both the custom battles battles and the campaign work, though I get errorless CTDs in the later). This makes the mod installation much easier. I hope I will be able to upload the files later today or tomorrow.

  18. #108
    Arrogant Ashigaru Moderator Ludens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    8,919

    Lightbulb Re: Blue Lotus Open Beta

    Quote Originally Posted by neumonic
    I have Nero installed and I can load my BL w/o problem. I think it's not with Nero.
    However in the beginning, I did have BL load at 80%+ and nothing happened.
    Later I realised that it was the music that BL was looking for.
    I suggest do not install the music addons and use the default and see if it load alright. Hope this help. :)
    After I got the BL to load and run, I then added the whole folder "music" into the sound folder and renamed the music.dat,
    done! new music added.
    Thanks. It was caused by the Music patch: after I overwrote the sound files with those vanilla 1.5 the game worked again. However, I have not been able to get the sound patch to work. The only way to make the game start-up properly with the sound patch installed is by renaming xxmusic.dat back to music.dat. This results in the old R:TW music playing. Any ideas how I can get the new music playing?
    Looking for a good read? Visit the Library!

  19. #109
    Member Member neumonic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    14

    Default Re: Blue Lotus Open Beta

    Quote Originally Posted by Ludens
    Thanks. It was caused by the Music patch: after I overwrote the sound files with those vanilla 1.5 the game worked again. However, I have not been able to get the sound patch to work. The only way to make the game start-up properly with the sound patch installed is by renaming xxmusic.dat back to music.dat. This results in the old R:TW music playing. Any ideas how I can get the new music playing?
    Glad you can play BL. :)
    Easy to get the new music addons to work. Just rename the music.dat to xxmusic.dat. Inside the sound folder, you must have this folder named music. Important, the music folder itself must be in the sound folder c:/program/Rome -total war/data/sound/music (something like this).
    Inside the music folder, there you put the new music addon mp3.
    to make things clear just copy the music folder after you extracted (right click on the music folder and copy), then go into sound folder and then paste the whole music folder inside sound folder.
    When you renamed the xxmusic.dat, BL actually looks for the music folder first. :)

  20. #110
    Arrogant Ashigaru Moderator Ludens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    8,919

    Lightbulb Re: Blue Lotus Open Beta

    I found the problem. There was no music folder. For some reason WinRAR did not extract the folder (or anything to do with music files) when I copied and pasted them, but it did when I used the extract button. The music is now working. Thanks for your help, neumonic.

  21. #111
    Member Member Gen_Lee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    102

    Default Re: Blue Lotus Open Beta

    Just wnt to say I got this Mod today and it works perfectly.
    And what a joy to listen and watch the units in combat (Im using the non oficial minimod that makes the pace of combat a lot slower).
    Congrats for an amazing mod.

  22. #112
    Naked Game Fanatic Member Murfios's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    I live in the world of gaming
    Posts
    534

    Default Re: Blue Lotus Open Beta

    I dont want to bother or anything but I cant instal it. Look as I finish renaming the remainig pak files with xx, It says to copy the downloaded blue lotus file's Data into root data. Only one problem...It does not open . It reads " windows cannot open this file
    File: Blue_lotus_Beta_V1.0rar
    To open this file window need to know which program crated it...."

    I have downloaded 6 time the same file, but they are all the same. WHat do I do?

  23. #113

    Default Re: Blue Lotus Open Beta

    Later than expected and with some bugs I have not been able to fix,
    but here goes the files to run BL using the -mod extension.

    Campaign game isn't playable (semi-random CTDs), but for anyone who
    just wants to have a taste of the mod playing custom battles, this
    should be the easier, less intrusive, way to run the game.

    Thanks to the BL team for this amazing mod

    http://www.megaupload.com/?d=T47U1YF0

    http://rapidshare.de/files/25268309/mod_BL.zip.html

    Code:
    Files to run Blue Lotus with the -mod: extension
    ================================================
    
    The files in this zip should allow you to run BL withouth overwriting
    vanilla RTW files, so you don't need a separate RTW installation
    just for this mod (though if you needed to, it is worth! The mod is
    awesome!)
    
    Unfortunately, custom battles work at 99% but campaign map crashes
    withouth error :( 
    
    Setup instructions
    ==============
    
    1) Extract the BL mod to the RTW folder (RTW folder = folder
    with RomeTW.exe). After this you must have a "RTW/MASTER" folder
    
    2) Rename the new folder "MASTER" to "BL"
    
    3) Copy the files from this zip to "RTW/BL/data", overwriting the
    existing ones.
    
    4) Copy the folder "RTW/BL/data/banners" to "RTW/data/banners" and rename
    the folder copied from "banners" to "BL" (after this, you must have a  
    "RTW/data/banners/BL" folder)
    
    5) Create a shortcut to RomeTW.exe, edit it and add "-mod:BL -show_err"
    to the target executable, outside quotes if present
    
    
    Known bugs 
    =========
    
    Some of the following may be BL bugs, but others are due to the changes
    made in these files.
    
    1) Campaign game crashes without error attacking/spying slave cities.
    
    2) Slaves seems to be able to recruit monk units (probably because they
    have roman culture and recruitment in EDB and EDU is just specified
    by culture). May have relation to bug 1)
    
    3) Some battle banners don't show properly (eg Khanate).
    
    4) Khanate thunderbombers don't show properly at long distance.
    
    5) Some missing unit cards for the slaves: just copy the demon ones.
    
    
    Credits
    =====
    
    All the credit goes to the Blue Lotus team. I (new_pilgrim) just hope
    someone will find these files useful.

  24. #114
    Member Member moreb_benhk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    27

    Default Re: Blue Lotus Open Beta

    Murfios- What you need is a program capable of unpacking 'rar' files, which standard winzip cannot do. Hence the error message. There are a bunch out there, some of which were mentioned previously here on this thread or on another one in the BLue Lotus forum. One that springs to mind is 'winrar'. Most of these are freeware, so getting a hold of one should be no problem.

  25. #115
    Naked Game Fanatic Member Murfios's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    I live in the world of gaming
    Posts
    534

    Default Re: Blue Lotus Open Beta

    Thanks alot Moreb_Benkh, really apreciate it.

  26. #116
    Naked Game Fanatic Member Murfios's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    I live in the world of gaming
    Posts
    534

    Default Its impossible

    (problems start here)
    6. Run the .bat file and let run completely. this may take a while. After its done you'll see a new data folder in the packs directory.
    7. CUT or MOVE (not copy) this new Data folder and paste it over the root Data folder allowing it to overwrite everything. NOTE: There should be no Data folder left in Packs.
    8. Go back to the packs folder and rename all the pak files remaining (except the patch_0 and patch_1) You can just rename them with a couple of xx in the front ie sprites_1.pak rename to xxsprites_1.pak
    How in the world am I supposed to know this? do I need Winrar to to it or wuts up with the xx. No patch_0 appear...
    9. Download Blue Lotus and copy it's Data folder over the Data folder in the root.
    There is no copy on the scroll menu that appear when I right click it. "Edit" also has no "copy" action in it. If i ctrl+c and then ctrl+v on top it starts decompresing that takes an eternity, something with a loading bar. If I enter the "root" data folder nothing appears. just as if I had done nothing. I then moved everything inside the Blue lotus data into the root data and it gets replaced. It ruined the vanilla data folder.
    10. Install music patch (see readme in music download for install instructions)
    11. Run Rome, go to Imperial Campaign. Enjoy. REMEBER TO SAVE BEFORE EACH TURN. Random AI crashes can occur in this version.
    12. Please report bugs at the Blue Lotus subforum.
    What am I supposed to do?
    Last edited by Murfios; 07-09-2006 at 02:00.

  27. #117
    Arrogant Ashigaru Moderator Ludens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    8,919

    Lightbulb Re: Its impossible

    Quote Originally Posted by Murfios
    What am I supposed to do?
    It took me some time to get it to work to, so don't worry.

    Quote Originally Posted by Murfios
    8. Go back to the packs folder and rename all the pak files remaining (except the patch_0 and patch_1) You can just rename them with a couple of xx in the front ie sprites_1.pak rename to xxsprites_1.pak
    How in the world am I supposed to know this? do I need Winrar to to it or wuts up with the xx. No patch_0 appear...
    You do it manually. Just right click the file and select "rename", then add to xx to the front (except for the patch_0.pak and patch_1.pak files).

    Quote Originally Posted by Murfios
    9. Download Blue Lotus and copy it's Data folder over the Data folder in the root.
    There is no copy on the scroll menu that appear when I right click it. "Edit" also has no "copy" action in it. If i ctrl+c and then ctrl+v on top it starts decompresing that takes an eternity, something with a loading bar. If I enter the "root" data folder nothing appears. just as if I had done nothing. I then moved everything inside the Blue lotus data into the root data and it gets replaced. It ruined the vanilla data folder.
    It sounds like you did the right thing. Try playing the game after following my above instructions. If it doesn't work, try installing it again. Open the BLUE_LOTUS_BETA_V1.0.rar file, double click on the master folder, select data and press ALT+E. You then need to select the Blue Lotus root folder. If it installs correctly, you will get a message asking you if it should overwrite an existing file. Click yes to all and wait (the extraction takes a while).
    Looking for a good read? Visit the Library!

  28. #118

    Default Re: Blue Lotus Open Beta

    I have updated the files to execute BL with -mod:BL, and now all the banners are shown properly. There are also other minor changes (hopefully, for good!).

    http://www.megaupload.com/?d=B1HHUQS3

    Code:
    ==================================================
    Files to run Blue Lotus with the "-mod:" extension
    ==================================================
    
    The files in this zip should allow you to run BL withouth overwriting
    vanilla RTW files, so you don't need a separate RTW installation. Also,
    it may be easier to install the mod this way.
    
    Custom battles work OK, but campaign map crashes withouth error
    semi-randomly :( 
    
    
    ==================
    Setup instructions
    ==================
    
    1) Extract the BL mod to the RTW folder (RTW folder = folder
    with RomeTW.exe). After this you have a "RTW/MASTER" folder
    
    2) Rename the folder "MASTER" to "BL"
    
    3) Copy the files from this zip to "RTW/BL/data", overwriting the
    existing ones.
    
    4) Copy the folder "RTW/BL/data/banners" to "RTW/data/banners" and rename
    the folder copied from "banners" to "BL" (after this, you have a  
    "RTW/data/banners/BL" folder)
    
    5) In "RTW/BL/models/textures" rename 
    	standard_german.tga.dds -> standard_mongol.tga.dds
    	standard_slave.tga.dds  -> standard_slave_BL.tga.dds
    	standard_*_rebels.tga.dds -> standard_*_rebels_BL.tga.dds
    
    6) Create a shortcut to RomeTW.exe, edit it and add "-mod:BL -show_err"
    to the target executable, outside the quotes if present.
    
    7) Use the shortcut created in 8 to start a custom battle or a imperial
    campaign, and enjoy BL!
    
    
    =========
    Bug Fixes
    =========
    
    1) To fix the black lines coming from the Zombie Samurai, copy the file
    "zomsam.CAS" included in this zip to "RTW/BL/data/models_unit"
    
    2) This fixes missing slave unit cards:
    Copy all the files from "RTW/BL/data/ui/UNITS/EGYPT/" to 
       "RTW/BL/data/ui/UNITS/SLAVE/" (don't overwrite when asked).
    
    3) This fixes a missing japanese building card:
    Copy "RTW/BL/data/ui/GREEK/BUILDINGS/CONSTRUCTION/#GREEK_ROADS.tga" to
       "RTW/BL/data/ui/GREEK/BUILDINGS/"  
    
    4) Also included in the zip are the files descr_regions and descr_strat.
    The second changes a non-demon building at Shinshan for a suitable one, and
    the first changes some default culture tags mainly for slave cities (may help
    to fix CTDs). Both files have to be moved to
     "RTW/BL/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign"
    
    
    =======
    Credits
    =======
    
    All the credit goes to the Blue Lotus team. I (new_pilgrim) just hope
    someone will find these files as useful as they are for me! 
    
    V060709A

  29. #119
    Member Member The_Rat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Blue Lotus Open Beta

    is the chinese water buffalo chariot unit supposed to be in the beta cause i didnt see it

    also is there a way right now to attack the siege a demon city without getting a CTD

    "Know that the Spartan martial reputation for fighting is complete bulls&%*, I mean a fairy tale, since they have been completely beaten many times in battle, even once by peltasts."
    Know that all this modern day Spartan worship is complete bulls%@*, I mean completely unjustified, and with time , you will realize that Thebans are more deserved of this reputation."

    Thebans broke the backs of the Spartans at Leuctra in 371BC And Zeus only knows why in this world there is a film called 300 Spartans but no 300 Thebans

  30. #120
    Member Member Mouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Noobland
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Blue Lotus Open Beta

    Hi all,

    Iam new and am some trouble installing this mod.

    I have encounted no problems up to step #6. Please excuse my noobness but what is the .bat file and where can I find it?

    I have also completed step #8 the renaming of the paks

    Any help will be appriciated.

Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst 12345678 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO