Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 61 to 72 of 72

Thread: .strings.bin converter

  1. #61
    Exarch Member Julius_Nepos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Great Falls, MT
    Posts
    87

    Post Re: .strings.bin converter

    I think I'm missing something here, I've found the resource entry on this website, but I see no means to download the converter at all, has it been removed? What is it I'm not seeing here? Maybe I'm just having a temporary seizure or something, help will be appreciated.

  2. #62
    Harbinger of... saliva Member alpaca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,767

    Default Re: .strings.bin converter

    You can find a link in the first post.

  3. #63
    Member Member Demeter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: .strings.bin converter

    Hello here,

    Yesterday i found out that .strings.bin editor does not add new entries correctly.
    So I wrote *txt.strings.bin unpacker into text form (non unicode) and then packer back into binary yesterday night.
    Its java based. Does it worth to share it or there is a packer already?

    Btw file format of .strings.bin is very simple.
    First 4 bytes is the header {0x02, 0x00, 0x00, 0x08};

    Then the number of translation records low byte first, high last (little endian?)
    Then all the translations in the UTF-16LE format.
    2 bytes - length of name followed by UTF name itself
    2 bytes - length of value followed by UTF value itself

    Then the number of name records low byte first, high last (little endian?)
    Then all the names in the UTF-16LE format.
    2 bytes - length of name followed by UTF name itself

    Sometimes file ends with 2-4 trailing zero bytes.

  4. #64
    Member Member taliesin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: .strings.bin converter

    always share man!

  5. #65

    Default Re: .strings.bin converter

    I keep getting:
    List Index out of range error

    and thus I cannot convert the file, can anyone help me?

  6. #66
    Member Member Asgard7783's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: .strings.bin converter

    anyway someone can post the text files for Kingdoms in winrar

  7. #67
    Member Member ohoho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: .strings.bin converter

    thanks mate !

  8. #68
    New Member Member username1999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: .strings.bin converter

    It's not working... It just pop up a blank window for half a second and that's it... Files not converted... Nothing I can do... PLEASE HELP!!!

  9. #69
    Member Member Stohrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: .strings.bin converter

    Well, I feel kind of weird asking this; as your original post was over 10 years ago; but...

    I just downloaded your converter and then downloaded the newest version of Python, and then 7-Zip, etc. Followed your instructions and placed the bat and py files in my text directory and tried to convert all my bin files to txt files. No luck; as it just opened a dos window momentarily and closed it again.

    So, I reread your readme file. Uninstalled the newest version Python, downloaded and installed the older version and tried it again. I got the same result as before.

    Now I'm hoping your still around (or someone else in the know is and is paying attention); as I'd really like to resolve this issue as soon as possible.

    Thanks,

    SK

  10. #70
    Member Member Stohrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: .strings.bin converter

    While I was unable to get the all feature to work; I did find that if I edited the bat file and made a separate python call to each bin file (example follows) the converter works.

    ie.

    strings_bin_converter.py battle_descriptions.txt
    strings_bin_converter.py battle_event_subtitles.txt
    strings_bin_converter.py building_battle.txt
    ...

    So, my problem is resolved.

    If I had the time, (and I may eventually), I'd dig out my book on writing batch files and fix the batch so that it's the one that finds the file(s) and such. There'd even be an option to confirm (or skip) each file (which would prevent the DOS screen from simply disappearing with no clue as to what did or did not take place).

    Unless, of course this is a moot point and I'm the only one still experiencing the afore mentioned problem.

    SK

    Member thankful for this post:

    Ludens 


  11. #71
    Arrogant Ashigaru Moderator Ludens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    8,904

    Thumbs up Re: .strings.bin converter

    Quote Originally Posted by Stohrm View Post
    Unless, of course this is a moot point and I'm the only one still experiencing the afore mentioned problem.
    No idea if it is, but thanks for letting us know, anyway.
    Looking for a good read? Visit the Library!

  12. #72
    Member Member allotaire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: .strings.bin converter

    I've a probleme. I do the modification step by step. But when i want to launch a great capain, the game don't launch.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO