Thread: Piano Keyboards

Default Piano Keyboards

Hey,
    I'm looking to buy a piano keyboard and saw this one:
    http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg...X0DER&v=glance

Does anyone have an opinion on if this would be a good keyboard to learn piano?
    It only has 61 keys so I was skeptical, but its the cheapest quality one I can find.
    "How do you tell a communist? Well, it's someone who reads Marx and Lenin. And how do you tell an anti-Communist? It's someone who understands Marx and Lenin." -Ronald Reagan

"It's somewhat ironic that closing spam threads increases my postcount"
    -Ser Clegane

Default Re: Piano Keyboards

Hiji, do you have anywhere near you where you can look, hear and feel some keyboards side by side? I'm no musician (unfortunately) but we went through this very exercise for my daughter last Christmas. She taught herself how to play piano but wanted to learn more with a keyboard she could put in her room.

When we were looking, there was a difference between the $100 tier, $200 tier and higher tiers of keyboards: feel of the keys, the sound quality, and features (learning mode, recording, built-in songs, sustain pedal, etc.). The one you linked I'd consider a $200 tier (list price). I no longer recall the details, but the Yamaha's sounded real nice (full, rich sound) and the Casio's almost as good. We eventually went with a Casio ($200 tier) keyboard because it had better features than the Yamaha for what my daughter planned to do with it (USB hook up to computer for recording). The store we purchased it from offered a free 1 year upgrade to a better model deducting the full price we paid for the original keyboard if our daughter decided that she needed a better keyboard. That was a nice little "insurance" policy.

I'm sure some of the real musican here will have some better advice for you though.
    This space intentionally left blank

Quote Originally Posted by Gregoshi