PDA

View Full Version : Creating or Modding Building Models

Seth Krn3ll
04-02-2008, 14:53
I am working to improve the wonderful LOTR-TW mod by Wlesmana (http://lotrtw.com)

I made some minor addings and moddings, but now I would love to go for something more significant, that is creating custom building models to be present in battle mode inside the cities.

Adding new buildings to txt files its fine and it works perfectly, both if you use names of vanilla games buildings or if you just add new ones.The lotr-tw mod already uses some new buildings and I added a few by myself.

So the txt phase is ok, I can totally manage it. What I’m looking for is just the 3d models for the battlemap.
First thing let me admit I’m a TOTAL newby for modding models, so, here are my questions:

1. There is any tutorial for real beginners to create 3d building models? If so please give me the links, I’ve found some but they suppose the reader to be already experienced and I lost myself there.
2. Is it possible to use already modded buildings and add them to my mod? Are there any building bd available for download around?
3. Another way – maybe easuer – would be to just change the textures of existing models: are there tutorials to help me finding the right textures to modify?
4. If it all will be too hard for me, maybe some experienced modders is interested in helping me to create some new building for the specific cultures of lotr-tw mod? I was thinking to start with some orc-specific buildings, with orchish textures and appearance. I’m good at graphics, so I can create nice textures, but have no exp on 3d modeling.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Thor the Bassist
04-03-2008, 17:34
Hi. I'm doing buildings for METW currently and one thing I'd say is that it takes a long time when you get immersed in things like accurate helms deep sets (very long story lol).